### IEEE P802.3cd Ad Hoc meeting – November 22, 2017

#### Prepared by Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of the Oct 25 minutes
- IEEE patent policy reminder:
  - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder
- P802.3cd TF Ad Hoc
  - P802.3cd Task Force Update, Mark Nowell
  - "P802.3cd focus areas", Mark Nowell
  - "Impact of test fixtures on ERL, SNR\_ISI", Rich Mellitz

Presentations posted at: <a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/index.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/index.html</a>

Meeting began at ~8:05 a.m. Pacific by Kent Lusted. He noted that the call will be 1 hour duration as announced in the proposed agenda email.

Kent noted that the ad hoc call scheduled for Dec 27, 2017 will be cancelled.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/agenda\_112217\_3cd\_adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. He reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Showed the links to the IEEE P802.3cd Task Force ad hoc page and the email reflector.

Presented the proposed agenda and asked if there was objection as written. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

Asked if there were comments regarding the posted minutes of the last ad hoc meeting. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE patent policy. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE patent policy. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE Participation Requirements and showed the slide with the Participation requirements. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE Participation Requirements. No one responded.

## Agenda Items

#### P802.3cd Task Force update, Mark Nowell

- Initial Sponsor Ballot is open until Dec 15, 2017.
- Meeting in January 2018, week of Jan 22. Plan to address comments and generate D3.1
- Participants are encouraged to submit comments and build consensus
- Presentation deadline is January 16, 2018.
- Chair noted that overlap with the other Study Groups and Task Forces is trying to be minimized. However, there is no guarantee until the work load is known.

#### Presentation #1:

"Key Focus Areas - P802.3 sponsor ballot", Mark Nowell

See: <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/nowell\_112217\_3cd\_adhoc.pdf</u>

- The list was generated by the TF leadership and editorial team. The initial list is based on feedback received to date. Participants were asked to provide feedback.
- Adee Ran noted that the item on AC coupling is newly discovered.
- Piers Dawe asked for VEC to be included.
- Submit comments and contributions during the initial ballot. Otherwise, the process reduces scope.

#### Presentation #2:

"Impact of test fixtures on ERL, SNR\_ISI", Rich Mellitz See: <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/mellitz\_112217\_3cd\_adhoc-v2.pdf</u>

- "dirty fixture" is defined to be a lower-quality test fixture that may have more imperfections.
- The TDR rise time was 13ps on slide 3.
- Author intends to propose to add ERL to the specification for the package and the channel.
- The next step is to add a real device in place of the COM specified termination.
- There was a request for a backup slide with the COM parameters and channel used for the presentation. Posted as v2 in link above.

\*\*\* A free drink to the first person to let the Task Force Chair know they've read this \*\*\*

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~9 a.m. Pacific.

Adam Healey	broadcom
Adee Ran	intel
Alexander Rysin	mellanox
Ali Ghiasi	Huawei
Anand A	maxlinear
Arthur Marris	cadence
Daniel Koehler	morethanip
Dave	marvell
Dave Lewis	lumentum
David Malicoat	Senko
Gary Nicholl	cisco
Hai-Feng Liu	intel
Howard Heck	intel
Kapil Shrikhande	innovium
Karen Liu	kaiam
Kent Lusted	intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	broadcom
Marco Mazzini	cisco
Mark Kimber	semtech
Mark Nowell	cisco
MarkG	xilinx
martin white	cavium
Mike Dudek	cavium
Paul Kolesar	commscope
Peter Anslow	ciena
Phil Sun	credosemi
Piers	mellanox
prashant baveja	ao-inc
RICHARD MELLITZ	samtec
T.SAKAI	socionext
Matt Brown	macom
vishal	silabtech
Yasuo Hidaka	independent

# List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)