IEEE P802.3ck Telephonic Interim meeting – March 30, 2020

Prepared by Kent Lusted and Beth Kochuparambil

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder:
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- IEEE Copyright reminder
 - https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/index.html
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder
- Ground Rules and operations reminder
- Comment Resolution
 - ERL Direction
 - mellitz_3ck_01_0320
 - Consensus discussion
 - ERL Comments
 - CC method: #80
 - 120G parameters: #19, 10057, 10071
 - 120G value: #118, 120, 121, 122, 123
 - 120G editorial: #10059, 10060
 - 162, Host parameter: #10009, 128
 - 162, Host value: #10003, 10010, 129, 10011, 131
 - 162, CA parameter: #10012
 - 162, CA value: #10013
 - 163 parameter: #10021, 10024, 10020, 10022, 10069
 - 120F value: #90

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20_03/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:00 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20 03/agenda 3ck 03 0320.pdf

The chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair noted the suggested re-ordering of the comment list in the agenda. Chair asked if there were objections or modifications to the agenda. No one responded.

Motion #1:

Move to approve the agenda.

M: Arthur MarrisS: Rich Mellitz

Motion passed by voice without opposition

Chair reminded participants of the IEEE patent policy. She asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE patent policy. (See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html) No one responded. Chair made the call for patents. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE copyright policy. She asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the copyright policy. (See: https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/index.html) No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE Participation Requirements and showed the slide with the Participation requirements. She asked people to leave the call if unwilling to abide by this policy.

Chair reviewed the expectations and ground rules for the telephonic interim meetings. No one indicated being part of the press.

Agenda Items

Comment resolution began.

Presentation #1:

"ERL and Parameter Recommendations", Rich Mellitz

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20 03/mellitz 3ck 01b 0320.pdf

- Updated version '01b' with technical changes from consensus building. No one responded.
- Discussed the values of N listed on slide 8.
- Discussed a path of setting the ERL parameters now and resolving the values in a future draft. It was noted that the proposal was for proposed parameters and does not change Annex 93.5

Reviewed the ERL consensus document posted to the website (http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20_03/kochuparambil_3ck_01_0320.pdf) Chair noted that screenshots of the draft were removed due to copyright policies.

Changes were made to the document as saved. Posted at http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/private/draftcaptures/kochuparambil-3ck-01a-0320.pdf

Mike Dudek withdrew comment #10060.

Mau-Lin Wu withdrew comment #10069.

Chair noted that the next meeting is 1 April 2020 and is scheduled for a 3 hour meeting. She noted that the VEC topic moved to 8 April 2020; proposed topics for 1 April will be sent over the email reflector.

The telephonic interim ended at ~9:00 am Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by
Adam Healey	Broadcom	Broadcom
Adee Ran	Intel	Intel
Alan Kinningham	I-PEX	I-PEX
Alex Haser	Molex	Molex
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Andy Zambell	Luxshare-ICT	Luxshare-ICT
Arthur Marris	Cadence	Cadence
Ayal Shoval	Synopsys	Synopsys
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco
Bill Kirkland	Semtech	Semtech
Biman Chattopadhyay	Synopsys	Synopsys
Bruce Champion	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Champion Kao	Intel	Intel
Chan Chih (David) Chen	Applied Optoelectronics	Applied Optoelectronics
Chris DiMinico	PHY-SI	PHY-SI
Dave Hess	Cord Data	Cord Data
David Malicoat	Senko	Malicoat Networking Solutions
David Ofelt	Juniper	Juniper
David Piehler	Dell EMC	Dell EMC
David Rennie	Synopsys	Synopsys

Ed Frlan	Semtech	Semtech
Frank Chang	Source Photonics	Source Photonics
Gary Nicholl	Cisco	Cisco
Geoff Zhang	Xilinx	Xilinx
George Luk	Credo	Credo
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight	Keysight Technologies
Greg McSorley	Amphenol	Amphenol
Hansel Dsilva	Achronix	Achronix
Hormoz Djahanshahi	Microchip	Microchip
Howard Heck	Intel	Intel
Inho Kim	Marvell	Marvell
James Weaver	Arista	Arista
James Young	Commscope	Commscope
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jeffery Maki	Juniper	Juniper
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
John D'Ambrosia	Futurewei (US Subsidiary of Huawei)	Futurewei
John Ewen	Marvell	Marvell
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose
Juan Martinez	IBM	IBM
Karen Liu	Lightwave Logic	Lightwave Logic

Kent Lusted	Intel	Intel
Klaus Engenhardt	Keysight	Keysight
Liav Ben-Artsi	Marvell	Marvell
Mark Kimber	Semtech	Semtech
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Mike Dudek	Marvell	Marvell
Mike Klempa	UNH-IOL	UNH-IOL
Mike Li	Intel	Intel
Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Piers Dawe	Mellanox	Mellanox
Pirooz Tooyserkani	Cisco	Cisco
Qing Xu	Ranovus	Ranovus
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Ruibo Han	China Mobile	China Mobile
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Scott Sommers	Molex	Molex
Stephen Didde	Keysight	Keysight
Steve Sekel	Keysight	Keysight
Steve Trowbridge	Nokia	Nokia
Tom Palkert	Molex/Macom	Molex/Macom

Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Upen Kareti	Cisco	Cisco
Xiang He	Huawei	Huawei
Xinyuan Wang	Huawei	Huawei
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo
Yekutiel Uliel	Intel	Intel
Zhiwei Yang	ZTE	ZTE
Zvi Rechtman	Mellanox	Mellanox