IEEE P802.3ck Ad Hoc meeting – April 21, 2021

Prepared by Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of the 4/14 minutes
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder (see below for links)
- IEEE Copyright reminder (see below for link)
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder (see below for link)
- Task Force Status
- Preliminary Chief Editor's Report
- 3ck Technical Presentations
 - "Validating C2M VEC and VEO Limits", Ali Ghiasi
 - "Tfx for Measured Fixtures", Sam Kocsis
 - "CTLE for the C2M Reference RX", Beth Kochuparambil (in lieu of Adee Ran)

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:00 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr21 21/agenda 042121 3ck adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair asked if there was modification or opposition to the agenda. No one responded. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

The minutes for the last ad hoc meeting on 14 April 2021 were posted to the ad hoc website. Chair received a modification request via email on the attendance list. Chair asked if there was objection to approving the modified minutes. No one responded. Minutes were approved.

Chair reviewed the slide with the Participation requirements.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the copyright slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the IEEE-SA copyright slides.

Chair asked if anyone participating was unfamiliar with the patent slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the patent policy slides and did the call for Potentially Essential Patents – no one responded.

Chair reviewed the ground rules.

Chair called for members of the press. No one responded.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Update, Beth Kochuparambil

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr21 21/agenda 042121a 3ck adhoc.pdf

- Updated version '01a' would be posted with corrections discussed.
- Draft 2.0 Working Group ballot closed on Sunday, 18 April 2021. The ballot exceeded the required 75% response rate.
- All other presentations are due 29 April 2021 AOE
- Proposed responses are expected to be posted around 7 May 2021 and will be announced over the email reflector.
- Received liaison from OIF. See
 https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/private/OIF liaison letter IEEE802.3 08Apr21 CEI Projects.pdf and
 https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/private/OIF_liaison_IEEE802.3_08Apr21_CEI_cover_wnotes.pdf
- The next comment resolution series was announced over the email reflector. See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/100GEL/email/msg00694.html

Preliminary Chief Editor's Report, Matt Brown

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr21 21/brown 3ck adhoc 01 042121.pdf

- Reviewed the comment summary.
- Author noted that the comment report had several corrections to the page/line coordinates.
- Chair thanked the editors and reviewers for their effort on the draft.

Presentation #1:

"Validating C2M VEC and VEO Limits", Ali Ghiasi See:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr21 21/ghiasi 3ck adhoc 01a 042121.pdf

Author will send updated version '01a' with comment numbers explicitly listed

Discussed the impact of Si on the plots on slide 8.

Presentation #2:

"Tfx for Measured Fixtures", Sam Kocsis

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr21 21/kocsis 3ck adhoc 01 042121.pdf

- On slide 8, it was noted that the plots used COM 2.95 and settings prior to Draft 2.0 values.
- Discussed if the FOMILD performance would be the equivalent between the QSFP-DD and OSFP form factors.
- On slide 8, the red circled data highlights a channel impairment that some believe needs root cause analysis.

Beth Kochuparambil passed the Chair responsibility to Kent Lusted.

Presentation #3:

"CTLE for the C2M Reference RX", Beth Kochuparambil on behalf of Adee Ran See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr21_21/ran_3ck_adhoc_01_042121.pdf

- On slide 2, it was noted 120G is C2M, not C2C.
- Discussed the proposed changes on slide 15.

Straw Poll #1:

For the reference CTLE of Annex 120G (choose one):

- A. I would support the proposed change if it does not degrade VEC/EH compared to the current parameters.
- B. I would support the proposed change if it improves VEC/EH compared to the current parameters, and change the max VEC / min EH accordingly.
- C. I am interested in the proposed change but some modifications are required.
- D. I would not support the proposed change (even with modifications).
- E. I need more information.
- F. I don't have an opinion.

Results: A: 3, B: 3, C: 3, D: 12, E: 10, F: 8

During the discussion of straw poll #1, it would noted that the proposed change was clarified to mean slides 14 and 15 of ran_3ck_adhoc_01_042121.pdf

Vice Chair reminded participants that the next ad hoc call was scheduled for 28 April. See the Task Force web site for more information. He also reminded participants to review the received

comment reports posted on the website (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/comments/index.html)

Beth Kochuparambil resumed Chair responsibilities.

The ad hoc meeting ended at \sim 9:00 am Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by
Adam Healey	Broadcom	Broadcom
Alan Kinningham	I-PEX	I-PEX
Alex Haser	Molex	Molex
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Ayal Shoval	Synopsys	Synopsys
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco
Brandon Gore	Samtec	Samtec
Bruce Champion	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Champion (Chien Ping) Kao	Cornelis Networks	Cornelis Networks
Chan Chih (David) Chen	Applied Optoelectronics	Applied Optoelectronics
Chris DiMinico	PHY-SI	PHY-SI
Clint Walker	Alphawave IP	Alphawave IP
Curtis Donahue	Rohde & Schwarz	Rohde & Schwarz
David Malicoat	Senko	Independent
Enis Akbaba	Maxim Integrated	Maxim Integrated
Eugene Opsasnick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Frank Chang	Source Photonics	Source Photonics
Geoff Zhang	Xilinx	Xilinx
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight	Keysight
Hansel Dsilva	Achronix	Achronix
Hessam Mohajeri	Cadence	Cadence

Howard Heck	Intel	Intel
Istvan BakroNagy	EFFECT Photonics	EFFECT Photonics
James Weaver	Arista	Arista
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jeffery Maki	Juniper	Juniper
Jennifer Santulli	IEEE SA	IEEE SA
Jinhua Chen	Luxshare ICT	Luxshare ICT
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose
Juan Martinez	IBM	IBM
Kent Lusted	Intel	Intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom	Broadcom
Liav Ben-Artsi	Marvell	Marvell
Mark Gustlin	Cisco	Cisco
Mark Kimber	Semtech	Semtech
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Mike Dudek	Marvell	Marvell
Mike Klempa	Amphenol	Amphenol
Mike Li	Intel	Intel
Pavel Zivny	Tektronix	Tektronix
Pavel Zivny	Tektronix	Tektronix

Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Piers Dawe	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Pirooz Tooyserkani	Cisco	Cisco
Rajmohan Hegde	Broadcom	Broadcom
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Scott Sommers	Molex	Molex
SJ Yu	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Stephen Didde	Keysight	Keysight
Steve Sekel	Wilder Tech	Wilder Tech
Takeshi Nishimura	Yamaichi, USA	Yamaichi, USA
Tao Hu	Marvell	Marvell
Terry Little	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Upen Kareti	Cisco	Cisco
Varun Garg	Keysight	Keysight
Victor Chen	Amazon	Amazon
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo