IEEE P802.3ck Interim meeting – December 8, 2021

Prepared by Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of comment resolution minutes:
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder
- IEEE Copyright reminder
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder
- Task Force Status
- Next Steps
- Technical Presentation (posted)
 - COM 3.4 update, Rich Mellitz
 - A Few Common Mode Measurements, Rich Mellitz

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:05 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil. (All times recorded are Pacific timezone, unless otherwise stated.)

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/dec08 21/agenda 120821 3ck adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute. She also indicated that attendance was to be taken via webex participant's list for the purpose of the minutes.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair asked if there was modification or opposition to the agenda. No one responded. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

The minutes for the November 2021 comment resolution meeting series were posted to the website. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/21 11/minutes 3ck 1121 unapproved.pdf) Chair asked if there were modifications or corrections to the posted minutes. No one responded. Minutes were approved.

Chair reviewed the slide with the Participation requirements.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the copyright slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the IEEE-SA copyright slides.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the patent slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the patent policy slides and made a call for Potentially Essential Patents – no one responded.

Chair reviewed the ground rules.

Chair called for members of the press. No one responded.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Update, Beth Kochuparambil

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/dec08 21/agenda 120821 3ck adhoc.pdf

- EC approval granted on 7 December 2021 to proceed to SA ballot.
- Draft 3.0 available in the TF private area
- Tentative initial SA ballot scheduled for 10 December 2021 to 9 January 2022. Scope is wide open.
- Chair reviewed the tentative schedule on slide 19.
- It was noted that the SA ballot is conducted via the IEEE myproject tool. Adee Ran offered to help balloters with tool questions.

Presentation #1:

"D3.4 Update", Rich Mellitz

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/dec08 21/mellitz 3ck adhoc 02 120821.pdf

- COM 3.4 was posted on the tools page at http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/tools/index.html#tools
- No changes to common mode functionality in the tool, only for exploration at the moment.

Presentation #2:

"A Few Common Mode Measurements", Rich Mellitz

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/dec08 21/mellitz 3ck adhoc 01 120821.pdf

- Discussed the setup used for the experiment on slide 3. The DC-DC converter used had several operational modes.
- The DC-DC converter was ~1 MHz operating frequency. Presenter to confirm.
- Discussed the change in BER due to the DC-DC converter noise. It was approximately 1-2 order of magnitude.
- Chair encouraged participants to work offline to build consensus on whether a change is required or not.

Chair reminded participants of the next ad hoc meeting on 15 December. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/calendar.html) Presentations requests and material are due on 13 December AOE.

Meeting ended at ~8:40 a.m. Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by
Adam Healey	Broadcom	Broadcom
Adee Ran	Cisco	Cisco
Alex Haser	Molex	Molex
Arthur Marris	Cadence	Cadence
Ayal Shoval	Synopsys	Synopsys
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco
Bill Simms	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Bruce Champion	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Champion (Chien Ping) Kao	Cornelis Networks	Cornelis Networks
Chris DiMinico	PHY-SI	PHY-SI
David Malicoat	Senko	Independent
Ed Ulrichs	Intel	Intel
Enis Akbaba	Analog Devices	Analog Devices
Eugene Opsasnick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Frank Chang	Source Photonics	Source Photonics
Geoff Zhang	Xilinx	Xilinx
Hessam Mohajeri	Cadence	Cadence
Hugues Tournier	Ciena	Ciena
James Weaver	Arista	Arista
James Young	Commscope	Commscope

Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jinhua Chen	Luxshare ICT	Luxshare ICT
Jodi Haasz	IEEE SA	IEEE SA
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
John Ewen	Marvell	Marvell
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose
Kent Lusted	Intel	Intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom	Broadcom
Liav Ben-Artsi	Marvell	Marvell
Marc Cartier	Amphenol	Amphenol
Mark Kimber	Semtech	Semtech
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Patrick Casher	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Pavel Zivny	Tektronix	Tektronix
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Pirooz Tooyserkani	Cisco	Cisco
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Shayan Shahramian	Alphawave	Alphawave

Steve Sekel	Wilder Tech	Wilder Tech
Terry Little	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Tobey PR Li	Mediatek	Mediatek
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Varun Garg	Keysight	Keysight
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo