IEEE P802.3ck Ad Hoc meeting – January 8th, 2020

Prepared by Beth Kochuparambil and Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- · Approval of the Agenda
- Approve December 18 2019 Ad Hoc Minutes
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder:
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- IEEE Copyright reminder
 - https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/index.html
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder
- Task Force Status
- .3ck Technical Presentations*
 - "ERL Capable of DFE Floating-Tap" Mau-Lin Wu
 - "Cl 161 Alignment Marker Lock Issue" Jeff Slavick

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:05 a.m. Pacific by Kent Lusted.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jan08 20/agenda 010820 3ck adhoc.pdf

Chair Beth Kochuparambil has returned from her leave; Kent will remain as acting chair through the January meeting. Please include both Vice-chair and Chair in your communications with leadership as she ramps back into her role.

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Presented the proposed agenda. Ad Hoc Chair reiterated meeting adjustment to 60 minutes. No one responded with additions or corrections. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

The ad hoc chair noted that the December 18, 2019 minutes were posted. He asked if there were corrections or modifications. No one responded. Minutes were approved by the Task Force.

Reminded participants of the IEEE patent policy. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE patent policy. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE copyright policy. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE patent policy. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE Participation Requirements and showed the slide with the Participation requirements. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE Participation Requirements. No one responded.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Update, Kent Lusted

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jan08 20/agenda 010820 3ck adhoc.pdf

- Chair highlighted the completion of our first Task Force review on Draft 1.0
 - o 244 comments from 16 commenters
 - Comments received were posted in private area on Monday. Contact Chair or Vice-Chair for username/password
 - o Proposed responses to be posted by 16 January AOE
 - THANK YOU to editorial team for their hard work and fervent efforts!
- Task Force will meet week of January 20, 2020 in Geneva, Switzerland
 - O Chair noted that .3ck is scheduled for Tuesday, Wednesday (possibly late), and Thursday.
 - o Requests for presentations due: Thursday, January 9, 2020 AOE
 - O Presentations due: Friday, January 10, 2020 AOE
 - O The Task Force will be focused on comment resolution of Draft 1.0 and hearing presentations on open items that exist in the draft
- Discussed moving the unconfirmed late day (currently requesting Wednesday) to Tuesday for financial purposes. There was strong opposition of overlap with NEA session voiced by several participants.

Presentation #1:

"ERL Capable of DFE Floating-Tap," Mau-lin Wu

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jan08_20/wu_3ck_adhoc_01_010820.pdf

- Concern was voiced about use of floating taps
- Discussed validity of correlation between COM and ERL
- Discussed specific parameters (Nbx, Nb, etc) used in the analysis

Presentation #2:

"Cl 161 Alignment Marker Lock Issue," Jeff Slavick

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jan08 20/slavick 3ck adhoc 010820.pdf

- This was a follow-on presentation from the Dec. 18 ad hoc with additional background information
- Timing and impact on industry implementation were discussed

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~8:00 am Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Company
Adam Healey	broadcom
Adee Ran	intel
Alan Kinningham	ipex-us
Alex Haser (Molex)	molex
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum / Inphi
Athos Kasapi	cadence
Bert Klaps	intel
Beth Kochuparambil (Cisco)	cisco
Bruce Champion (TE)	te
Burrell Best (Samtec)	samtec
Champion Kao	intel
Clint	awaveip
david malicoat	Senko
David Ofelt	juniper
David Piehler [Dell EMC]	dell
David Rennie	synopsys

Dominic Lapierre (EXFO)	exfo
Ed Frlan (Semtech)	semtech
Erdem Matoglu - Amphenol (Guest)	amphenol-tcs
Fernando De Bernardinis (Guest)	esilicon
Frank Chang	Source Photonics
Frank Lambrecht (Gigamon Inc.)	Gigamon
Greg LeCheminant	keysight
Greg McSorley(Amphenol)	amphenol-highspeed
Hansel Dsilva (Achronix Semiconductor)	achronix
James Weaver	arista
Jeff Slavick	broadcom
Jeffery Maki	juniper
John Ewen (Guest)	averasemi
John Yurtin	delphi
Kapil Shrikhande	innovium
Kent Lusted	intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	broadcom

Lokesh Kabra (Synopsys)	synopsys
Mark Gustlin (Cisco)	cisco
Mark Kimber (Semtech)	semtech
Masashi	intel
Mau-Lin Wu	mediatek
Mike Dudek	marvell
Nathan Tracy	te
Phil Sun	credosemi
pvenugopal	arista
Rich	samtec
Rick Rabinovich	keysight
Sam Kocsis (Amphenol) (Guest)	amphenol-tcs
Scott Irwin	mosys
Scott Sommers (Guest)	molex
Shawn Nicholl (Xilinx)	xilinx
Shimon	not available
Sridhar Ramesh	maxlinear

Steve Trowbridge	nokia
Ted Sprague	infinera
Will	wilder-tech
Xiang He	huawei
Yasuo Hidaka	credosemi
Zvi Rechtman	mellanox