IEEE P802.3ck Ad Hoc meeting – June 30, 2021

Prepared by Beth Kochuparambil

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of the Draft 2.0 Comment Resolution minutes: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/21 05/minutes 3ck 0521 final unapproved.pdf
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder (see below for links)
- IEEE Copyright reminder (see below for link)
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder (see below for link)
- Task Force Status
- 3ck Technical Presentations
 - "Further Discussion on TX dERL Specification", Tobey P.-R. Li
 - "COM r3.2 Update for d2.0 and Follow-on Work", Rich Mellitz
 - "AC common mode considerations for C2M", Adee Ran
 - "Snapshot of Receiver Module Input Tests (no convergence on high-loss TP1a channel)",
 John Calvin

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:00 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jun30 21/agenda 063021 3ck adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair asked if there was modification or opposition to the agenda. No one responded. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

The minutes for May/D2.0 comment resolution set of meetings were posted to the website. Beth asked if there were corrections or modifications. No one responded. Minutes were approved.

Chair reviewed the slide with the Participation requirements.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the copyright slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the IEEE-SA copyright slides.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the patent slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the patent policy slides and did the call for Potentially Essential Patents – no one responded.

Chair reviewed the ground rules.

Chair called for members of the press. No one responded.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Update, Beth Kochuparambil

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jun30 21/agenda 063021 3ck adhoc.pdf

- Draft 2.1 Working Group ballot recirculation closes on Saturday, 3 July 2021.
- Comment resolution meetings are to be announced, but noted that ALL presentations on D2.1 are due 12 July 2021 AOE
- Reminder you must register for the July virtual plenary which runs July 12-22, 2021

Presentation #1:

"Further Discussion on TX dERLSpecification", Tobey P.-R. Li

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jun30 21/li 3ck adhoc 01 063021.pdf

- Discussed impact and reality of C p and varied package experiments
- Discussed comparison to RX dERL

Presentation #2:

"COM r3.2 Update for d2.0 and Follow-on Work", Rich Mellitz See:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jun30 21/mellitz 3ck adhoc 01 063021.pdf

- Discussed impact of the changes on previous COM analysis
- COM revision 3.2 to be posted to the tools page soon.

Presentation #3:

"AC Common Mode Considerations for C2M", Adee Ran

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jun30 21/ran 3ck adhoc 01 063021.pdf

- Discussed complexity of making this change
- Discussed effects of both common mode and common mode to differential conversion on the impacts of the suggested change.

Presentation #4:

"Snapshot of Receiver Module Input Tests (no convergence on high-loss TP1a channel)", John Calvin

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/jun30 21/calvin 3ck adhoc 01 063021.pdf

- Clarifying questions around sample size (not real time) showed in slide 6 windowing tests.
- Discussed other potential eye mask or other experiments that may be useful

Beth reminded of the Working Group Recirculation close on Saturday, 3 July 2021.

She also encouraged use of the reflector and offline discussions. She noted the next ad hoc is July 14 and expects a busy meeting with limited presentation timeslots.

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~9:05 am Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by
Adee Ran	Cisco	Cisco
Alan Kinningham	I-PEX	I-PEX
Alex Haser	Molex	Molex
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Ashley Moran	IEEE SA	IEEE SA
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco
Bruce Champion	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Champion (Chien Ping) Kao	Cornelis Networks	Cornelis Networks
Chan Chih (David) Chen	Applied Optoelectronics	Applied Optoelectronics
David Cassan	Alphawave IP	Alphawave IP
Enis Akbaba	Maxim Integrated	Maxim Integrated
Eugene Opsasnick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Frank Chang	Source Photonics	Source Photonics
Gary Nicholl	Cisco	Cisco
Geoff Zhang	Xilinx	Xilinx
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight	Keysight
Hadrien Louchet	Keysight	Keysight
Hansel Dsilva	Achronix	Achronix
Hessam Mohajeri	Cadence	Cadence
Hormoz Djahanshahi	Microchip	Microchip

Howard Heck	Intel	Intel
Istvan BakroNagy	EFFECT Photonics	EFFECT Photonics
James Weaver	Arista	Arista
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jinhua Chen	Luxshare ICT	Luxshare ICT
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
John Ewen	Marvell	Marvell
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose
Karl Bois	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom	Broadcom
Liav Ben-Artsi	Marvell	Marvell
Mark Kimber	Semtech	Semtech
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Mike Davis	Sicoya	Sicoya
Mike Dudek	Marvell	Marvell
Mike Klempa	Amphenol	Amphenol
Mike Li	Intel	Intel
Patrick Casher	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Paul Brooks	Viavi	Viavi
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Piers Dawe	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Pirooz Tooyserkani	Cisco	Cisco

Rajmohan Hegde	Broadcom	Broadcom
Ramesh Sivakolundu	Cisco	Cisco
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Ryan Chodora	Keysight	Keysight
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Scott Sommers	Molex	Molex
SJ Yu	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Steve Sekel	Wilder Tech	Wilder Tech
Steve Trowbridge	Nokia	Nokia
Tao Hu	Marvell	Marvell
Terry Little	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Tobey PR Li	Mediatek	Mediatek
Tom Palkert	Macom/Samtec	Macom/Samtec
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Upen Kareti	Cisco	Cisco
Varun Garg	Keysight	Keysight
Victor Chen	Amazon	Amazon
Xiang He	Huawei	Huawei
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo