IEEE P802.3ck Ad Hoc meeting – March 30, 2022

Prepared by Kent Lusted and Beth Kochuparambil

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of March 23 minutes –
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder (see below for link)
- IEEE Copyright reminder (see below for link)
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder (see below for links)
- Task Force Status
- Technical Presentations
 - Proposed CR ISI_RES Spec Change, Mau-lin Wu

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:00 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil. (All times recorded are Pacific timezone, unless otherwise stated.)

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/mar30 22/agenda 033022a 3ck adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute. She also indicated that attendance was to be taken via webex participant's list for the purpose of the minutes.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair asked if there was modification or opposition to the agenda. No one responded. The agenda was approved.

The minutes for the 23 March 2022 meeting were posted to the website. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/mar23_22/minutes_032322_3ck_adhoc.pdf) Chair asked if there were modifications or corrections to the posted minutes. No one responded. Minutes were approved.

Chair reviewed the slide with the Participation requirements.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the copyright slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the IEEE-SA copyright slides.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the patent slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the patent policy slides and made a call for Potentially Essential Patents – no one responded.

Chair reviewed the ground rules.

Chair called for members of the press. No one responded.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Status, Beth Kochuparambil

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/mar30 22/agenda 033022a 3ck adhoc.pdf

- First recirculation SA ballot closed on 29 March 2022. Received 60 comments from 9 commenters. Ballot met the required response metrics.
- Received comments would be posted to the TF website soon at https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/comments/index.html. It would be announced over the TF email reflector.
- Comment resolution was scheduled as 7 meetings and can end as soon as all on-time comments are addressed. It was noted that the number of meetings may be reduced. (see https://www.ieee802.org/3/100GEL/email/msg00922.html)
- Chair noted that late presentations should have multiple supporters or collaborators, for the purpose of showing offline consensus.

Presentation #1:

"Proposed CR ISI RES Spec Change", Mau-Lin Wu

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/mar30 22/wu 3ck adhoc 01a 033022.pdf

- Author noted that the title of slide 6 should be "Option 3: by different TX FIR setting to minimize ISI_RES" not "maximize". Author to provide updated version '01a' with the correction.
- Discussed the options proposed in the presentation.
- On slide 9, the results shown were for COM test case 1.

Chair noted that the D3.1 received comments was posted to the Task Force website. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/comments/draft3p1/8023ck D3p1 comments received.pdf)

Chair noted that the next meeting was scheduled for 6 April, 2022. See details on IEEE 802.3 call and meeting calendar (https://www.ieee802.org/3/calendar.html).

Meeting ended at ~8:05 a.m. Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by
Adam Healey	Broadcom	Broadcom
Adee Ran	Cisco	Cisco
Alan Kinningham	I-PEX	I-PEX
Alex Haser	Molex	Molex
Alexander Rysin	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco
Bill Kirkland	Semtech	Semtech
Bill Simms	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
David Malicoat	Senko	Independent
Ed Frlan	Semtech	Semtech
Enis Akbaba	Analog Devices	Analog Devices
Eugene Opsasnick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Geoff Zhang	AMD	AMD
Howard Heck	Intel	Intel
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
John Ewen	Marvell	Marvell
John Yurtin	Aptiv	Aptiv
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose

Kent Lusted	Intel	Intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom	Broadcom
Liav Ben-Artsi	Marvell	Marvell
Mark Kimber	Semtech	Semtech
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Megha Shanbhag	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Mike Connaughton	Leviton	Leviton
Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Piers Dawe	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Raymond Nering	Cisco	Cisco
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Ryan Bespalko	Alphawave IP	Alphawave IP
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Steve Sekel	Wilder Tech	Wilder Tech
Terry Little	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Tobey PR Li	Mediatek	Mediatek
Tom Palkert	Macom/Samtec	Macom/Samtec
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Upen Kareti	Cisco	Cisco
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo