IEEE P802.3ck Ad Hoc meeting -

March 31, 2021

Prepared by Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of the March minutes
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder (see below for links)
- IEEE Copyright reminder (see below for link)
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder (see below for link)
- Task Force Status
- 3ck Technical Presentations
 - "Working Group Ballot Overview", Kent Lusted
 - "Comparing 120G C2M Measurement with COM Script Computations", Rich Mellitz
- Cp Discussion lead by Beth
 - Recall the technical presentations from the March meeting: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/21_03/index.html

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:00 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/mar31_21/agenda_033121_3ck_adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair asked if there was opposition to the agenda. No one responded. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

The minutes for the last ad hoc meeting on 10 March 2021 were posted to the ad hoc website. Chair reviewed a change in the posted minutes (version 0321a) regarding the removal of attendee from the list. No one responded. Chair asked if there was objection to the modified minutes. No one responded. Minutes were approved. Chair reviewed the slide with the Participation requirements.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the copyright slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the IEEE-SA copyright slides.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the patent slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the patent policy slides and did the call for Potentially Essential Patents – no one responded.

Chair reviewed the ground rules.

Chair called for members of the press. No one responded.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Update, Beth Kochuparambil

See: <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/mar31_21/agenda_033121_3ck_adhoc.pdf</u>

- Draft 2.0 Working Group ballot opened on 20th March 2021 (see: <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/100GEL/email/msg00683.html</u>)
- The ballot closes on Sunday, 18 April 2021.
- Presentations to complete comments are due 19 April 2021 AoE.

Presentation #1:

"Working Group Ballot Overview", Kent Lusted See: <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/bj/public/mar13/diab_3bj_01_0313.pdf</u>

• Kent thanked Wael Diab for creating the contribution.

Chair reminded participants to declare their affiliation in the webex meeting tool or they would be expelled from the call.

Presentation #2:

"Comparing 120G C2M Measurement with COM Script Computations", See:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/mar31_21/mellitz_3ck_adhoc_01_033121.pdf

- Discussed the results shown on slide 12.
- It was noted that Sj was at 40 MHz. The scope was 40 GHz, 4th order BT. CDR loop bandwidth was 4 MHz.
- There was agreement that a small group discussion would be helpful to go into greater detail on the analysis.
- It was noted that the scope and COM results were correlated during the analysis.

Cp Discussion - led by Beth Kochuparambil

Chair noted that there were 3 technical presentations from the March meeting on the Cp topic (see: <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/21_03/index.html</u>)

- The presentations were <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/21_01/bois_3ck_01_0121.pdf</u> and <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/21_03/wu_3ck_02a_0121.pdf</u> and <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/21_03/benartsi_3ck_01b_0321.pdf</u>
- Chair summarized the presentations and opened the floor for discussion.
- Participants discussed the various advantages and disadvantages of the Draft 2.0 value (87 fF) versus the proposed change (~60 fF).

Straw Poll #1:

At this time, I would support:

- A) keeping Cp the same as in Draft 2.0 (87 fF)
- B) reducing Cp (~60 fF is proposed)
- C) neither, I need more information
- D) No opinion

(choose one)

A: 24, B: 10, C: 1, D: 9

Chair noted that the next ad hoc is 14 April 2021.

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~8:40 am Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Alan Kinningham Alex Haser Ali Ghiasi Andy Jimenez Ayal Shoval	Broadcom I-PEX Molex Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi Anixter Synopsys	Broadcom I-PEX Molex Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi Anixter
Alex Haser Ali Ghiasi Andy Jimenez Ayal Shoval	Molex Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi Anixter	Molex Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Ali Ghiasi Andy Jimenez Ayal Shoval	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi Anixter	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Andy Jimenez Ayal Shoval	Anixter	
Ayal Shoval		Anixter
-	Synopsys	
Beth Kochuparambil		Synopsys
	Cisco	Cisco
Bill Kirkland	Semtech	Semtech
Brandon Gore	Samtec	Samtec
Bruce Champion	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Burrell Best	Samtec	Samtec
Champion (Chien Ping) Kao	Cornelis Networks	Cornelis Networks
Chan Chih (David) Chen	Applied Optoelectronics	Applied Optoelectronics
Chris DiMinico	PHY-SI	PHY-SI
Christian Orlando	IEEE-SA	IEEE-SA
Clint Walker	Alphawave IP	Alphawave IP
David Malicoat	Senko	Independent
Ed Frlan	Semtech	Semtech
Frank Chang	Source Photonics	Source Photonics
Gary Nicholl	Cisco	Cisco
Geoff Zhang	Xilinx	Xilinx

Greg LeCheminant	Keysight	Keysight
Hansel Dsilva	Achronix	Achronix
Hessam Mohajeri	Cadence	Cadence
Howard Heck	Intel	Intel
Inho Kim	Max Linear	Max Linear
James Weaver	Arista	Arista
James Young	Commscope	Commscope
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jeffery Maki	Juniper	Juniper
Jinhua Chen	Luxshare ICT	Luxshare ICT
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
John Deandrea	II-VI/Finisar	II-VI/Finisar
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose
Karl Bois	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Kent Lusted	Intel	Intel
Liav Ben-Artsi	Marvell	Marvell
Luis Boluna	Keysight	Keysight
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Mike Dudek	Marvell	Marvell
Mike Klempa	Amphenol	Amphenol
Mike Li	Intel	Intel

Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Paul Brooks	Viavi	Viavi
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Piers Dawe	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Pirooz Tooyserkani	Cisco	Cisco
Pranav Devalla	Arista	Arista
Priyank Shukla	Synopsys	Synopsys
Rajmohan Hegde	Broadcom	Broadcom
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Scott Walley	Max Linear	Max Linear
SJ Yu	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Steve Trowbridge	Nokia	Nokia
Tao Hu	Marvell	Marvell
Terry Little	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Tom Palkert	Macom/Samtec	Macom/Samtec
Tom Thompson	IEEE SA	IEEE SA
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Upen Kareti	Cisco	Cisco
Varun Garg	Keysight	Keysight
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo