IEEE P802.3ck Ad Hoc meeting -

May 25, 2022

Prepared by Kent Lusted and Beth Kochuparambil

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of April minutes
- Approval of May 4 minutes
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder (see below for link)
- IEEE Copyright reminder (see below for link)
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder (see below for links)
- Task Force Status
- Liaisons
- Technical Presentations
 - "Limits for AC common mode Voltage for C2M", Ali Ghiasi
 - "C2M Eye width", Piers Dawe

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:05 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil. (All times recorded are Pacific time zone, unless otherwise stated.)

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/may25_22/agenda_052522_3ck_adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute. She also indicated that attendance was to be taken via webex participant's list for the purpose of the minutes.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair asked if there was modification or opposition to the agenda. No one responded. The agenda was approved.

The minutes for the April 2022 meetings had been posted to the website. The minutes had been revised with editorial changes and the Chair reviewed the changes. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/22_04/minutes_3ck_0422b.pdf) The minutes for the May 4, 2022 minutes had been posted to the website. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/22_04/minutes_3ck_0422b.pdf) The minutes for the May 4, 2022 minutes had been posted to the website. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/22_04/minutes_3ck_0422b.pdf) Chair asked

if there were modifications or corrections to the posted minutes. There were no change requests. The minutes were approved by unanimous consent.

Chair reviewed the slide with the Participation requirements.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the copyright slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the IEEE-SA copyright slides.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the patent slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the patent policy slides and made a call for Potentially Essential Patents – no one responded.

Chair reviewed the ground rules.

Chair called for members of the press. No one responded.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Status, Beth Kochuparambil

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/may25_22/agenda_052522_3ck_adhoc.pdf

- The second recirculation SA ballot closed on 21 May 2022. Received 21 comments from 3 commenters.
- Comments received are posted to the website (see: <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/comments/index.html</u>)
- Comment resolution meetings had been announced for 31 May, 1 June, 7 June, 8 June. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/100GEL/email/msg00950.html) See the IEEE 802.3 call and meeting calendar for meeting details (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/100GEL/email/msg00950.html)
- Reviewed the next steps towards RevCom submittal.

Chair reminded participants that the meeting duration was reduced from three hours to two hours. She asked if there was an objection. No one responded.

Reviewed the proposed liaison to OIF (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/may25 22/IEEE 802d3 to OIF CEI 0522 draft1.pdf)

Reviewed the proposed liaison to T11.2. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/may25_22/IEEE_802d3_to_T11-2_0522_draft1.pdf)

Reviewed the proposed liaison to COBO. (see:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/may25_22/IEEE_802d3_to_COBO_0522_draft1.pdf)

Chair asked if there was any opposition to take the proposed liaison letters to the IEEE 802.3 Working Group meeting. No one responded.

Presentation #1:

"Limits for AC Common Mode Voltage for C2M", Ali Ghiasi See: <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/22_06/ghiasi_3ck_01b_0622.pdf</u>

- Chair noted that the author submitted an updated version '01a' prior to the start of the meeting and that it had not yet been posted.
- Author noted a typo on slide 3, "CR TP1a" should be "C2M TP1a". Author to provide an updated version '01b'.
- Discussed the results on slide 9.
- Discussed the proposal on slide 10.

Presentation #2:

"C2M Eye Width ", Piers Dawe See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/22_06/dawe_3ck_01_0622.pdf

- Discussed the details on slide 7.
- Reviewed the options on slide 10.

At the start of Q&A on presentation #2, the Chair reminded participants that the meeting would end at approximately 9:00 a.m. Pacific.

Chair reminded participants of the IEEE 802.3 Working Group meeting on Thursday, 26 May. (see: <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/calendar.html</u>)

Chair noted that the proposed comment responses would be announced over the Task Force email reflector.

Chair noted that comment resolution for D3.2 would start on Tuesday, 31 May. (see: <u>https://www.ieee802.org/3/calendar.html</u>)

Meeting ended at ~9:00 a.m. Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by
Adam Healey	Broadcom	Broadcom
Adee Ran	Cisco	Cisco
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Arthur Marris	Cadence	Cadence
Ayal Shoval	Synopsys	Synopsys
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco
Bill Simms	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Blake Brown	UNH-IOL	UNH-IOL
Bob Grow	RMG Consulting	RMG Consulting
Brandon Gore	Samtec	Samtec
Chan Chih (David) Chen	Applied Optoelectronics	Applied Optoelectronics
Charles Su	Huawei	Huawei
David Malicoat	Senko	Independent
David Piehler	Dell EMC	Dell EMC
Ed Ulrichs	Intel	Intel
Enis Akbaba	Analog Devices	Analog Devices
Eugene Opsasnick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Gary Nicholl	Cisco	Cisco
Geoff Zhang	AMD	AMD
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight	Keysight

Guangcan Mi	Huawei	Huawei
Howard Heck	Intel	Intel
James Weaver	Arista	Arista
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jeffery Maki	Juniper	Juniper
Jim Graba	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jodi Haasz	IEEE SA	IEEE SA
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
John Ewen	Marvell	Marvell
John Yurtin	Aptiv	Aptiv
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose
Kapil Shrikhande	Marvell	Marvell
Karl Bois	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Kent Lusted	Intel	Intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom	Broadcom
Kumi Omori	NEC	NEC
Lemon Geng	Huawei	Huawei
Liav Ben-Artsi	Marvell	Marvell
Mark Nowell	Cisco	Cisco
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Mike Dudek	Marvell	Marvell

Mike Klempa	Amphenol	Amphenol
Mike Li	Intel	Intel
Mike Sluyski	Cisco	Cisco
Mohsen Bajestani	Marvell	Marvell
Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Paul Brooks	Viavi	Viavi
Pavel Zivny	Tektronix	Tektronix
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Piers Dawe	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Pirooz Tooyserkani	Cisco	Cisco
Priyank Shukla	Synopsys	Synopsys
Qiwen Zhong	Huawei	Huawei
Ramesh Sivakolundu	Cisco	Cisco
Raymond Nering	Cisco	Cisco
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec
Richard Pitwon	Resolute Photonics	Resolute Photonics
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Roberto Rodes	II-VI	II-VI
Ryan Bespalko	Alphawave IP	Alphawave IP
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Scott Sommers	Molex	Molex
Semmy Peng	Huawei	Huawei
Shawn Nicholl	AMD	AMD

Sridhar Ramesh	Maxlinear	Maxlinear
Stephen Didde	Keysight	Keysight
Ted Sprague	Infinera	Infinera
Terry Little	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Tobey PR Li	Mediatek	Mediatek
Tom Palkert	Macom/Samtec	Macom/Samtec
Tom Souvignier	Broadcom	Broadcom
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Viet Tran	Keysight	Keysight
Xiang He	Huawei	Huawei
Xiangrong Gao	Huawei	Huawei
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo
Yong Kim	Axonne	Axonne