IEEE P802.3ck Ad Hoc meeting – May 27, 2020

Prepared by Kent Lusted and Beth Kochuparambil

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Participant reminder
 - http://www.ieee802.org/devdocs.shtml
- IEEE Copyright reminder
 - https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/index.html
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder:
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- Task Force Status
- 3ck Technical Presentations*
 - Tx Control in the Module Adee Ran
 - Host and Module Return Loss Parameters Ali Ghiasi

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:00 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/may27 20/agenda 052720 3ck adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair indicated changes from the emailed proposal and asked if there was opposition to the proposed agenda. No one responded. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

Chair reminded participants of the IEEE Participation Requirements and showed the slide with the Participation requirements, the IEEE copyright policy (see:

https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/index.html), and the IEEE patent policy (see: http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html). Chair asked if anyone was unfamiliar with any of

these IEEE policies. No one responded. There was no response to a "Call for Patents" on the Ad Hoc.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Update, Beth Kochuparambil

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/may27 20/agenda 052720 3ck adhoc.pdf

- Draft 1.2 review open until 13 June 2020
- Upcoming ad hocs are scheduled for 10 June, 17 June.
- Chair noted the Task Force telephonic interim series would be somewhat different, somewhat the same. Beth would announce over the email reflector by the next Ad Hoc.

Presentation #1:

"TX Control in the module", Adee Ran

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/may27 20/ran 3ck adhoc 01 052720.pdf

- Chair noted an updated presentation was posted with technical updates and asked if there was opposition to seeing it. No one opposed.
- Discussed optional nature of the proposal
- Concerns voiced about interoperability
- Discussed historical evidence of CAUI-10, MSA, and 50G control specifications
- Discussed output voltage swing and step size of measurement

Presentation #2:

"Host and Module Return Loss Parameters", Ali Ghiasi

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/20 03/ghiasi 3ck 03a 0320.pdf

- Clarified the circuit used in simulation
- Discussed the use of impairment in the simulation
- Discussed return loss impacts on channel and COM

Chair noted that the next ad hoc meeting was scheduled for 10 June 2020.

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~8:10 am Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by
Adam Healey	Broadcom	Broadcom
Adee Ran	Intel	Intel
Alex Haser	Molex	Molex
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Arthur Marris	Cadence	Cadence
Ayal Shoval	Synopsys	Synopsys
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco
Bill Kirkland	Semtech	Semtech
Bruce Champion	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Champion (Chien Ping) Kao	Intel	Intel
Chan Chih (David) Chen	Applied Optoelectronics	Applied Optoelectronics
David Malicoat	Senko	Independent
David Ofelt	Juniper	Juniper
Ed Frlan	Semtech	Semtech
Enis Akbaba	Maxim Integrated	Maxim Integrated
Frank Chang	Source Photonics	Source Photonics
Geoff Zhang	Xilinx	Xilinx
George Luk	Credo	Credo
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight	Keysight Technologies

Greg McSorley	Amphenol	Amphenol
Hansel Dsilva	Achronix	Achronix
Howard Heck	Intel	Intel
Inho Kim	Marvell	Marvell
Jacky Chang	НРЕ	НРЕ
James Weaver	Arista	Arista
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jeffery Maki	Juniper	Juniper
Jeremy Stephens	Microsoft	Microsoft
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
John Ewen	Marvell	Marvell
John Yurtin	Aptiv	Aptiv
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose
Kent Lusted	Intel	Intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom	Broadcom
Liav Ben-Artsi	Marvell	Marvell
Masoud Koochakzadeh	Max Linear	Max Linear
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Mike Dudek	Marvell	Marvell
Mike Klempa	UNH-IOL	UNH-IOL
Mike Li	Intel	Intel

Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Piers Dawe	Mellanox	Mellanox
Pirooz Tooyserkani	Cisco	Cisco
PLN	?	?
Priyank Shukla	Synopsys	Synopsys
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Scott Sommers	Molex	Molex
Scott Walley	Max Linear	Max Linear
Shawn Nicholl	Xilinx	Xilinx
Stephen Didde	Keysight	Keysight
Steve Sekel	Keysight	Keysight
Steve Trowbridge	Nokia	Nokia
Tao Hu	Marvell	Marvell
Terry Little	Foxconn Interconnect Technology	Foxconn Interconnect Technology
Tom Palkert	Molex/Macom	Molex/Macom
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Upen Kareti	Cisco	Cisco
Xiang He	Huawei	Huawei
Xinyuan Wang	Huawei	Huawei

Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo
Zvi Rechtman	Mellanox	Mellanox