IEEE P802.3ck Ad Hoc meeting – September 16, 2020

Prepared by Kent Lusted and Beth Kochuparambil

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of the 6/24 and 9/8 Ad Hoc minutes
- Participant reminder
 - http://www.ieee802.org/devdocs.shtml
- IEEE Copyright reminder
 - https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/index.html
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder:
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- Task Force Status
- 3ck Technical Presentations*
 - "Even-Odd Jitter (EOJ) Test Method" John Calvin
 - "Cable Assembly ERL & MTF Performance" Bruce Champion
 - "What to do with TP0a and TP5a" Matt Brown

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:00 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/sept16 20/agenda 091620 3ck adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair asked if there was opposition to the agenda. No one responded. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

The chair noted that the June 24, 2020 and September 8, 2020 minutes were posted. She asked if there were any corrections or modifications. No one responded. The minutes were approved without opposition.

Chair reminded participants of the IEEE Participation Requirements and showed the slide with the Participation requirements, the IEEE copyright policy (see:

https://standards.ieee.org/ipr/index.html), and the IEEE patent policy (see: http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html). Chair asked if anyone was unfamiliar with any of

these IEEE policies. No one responded. There was no response to a "Call for Patents" on the Ad Hoc.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Update, Beth Kochuparambil

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/sept16 20/agenda 091620 3ck adhoc.pdf

- Draft 1.3 Task Force review is currently open, closing Wednesday, Sept 23rd
- Presentations that complete any comments are also due Wednesday, Sept 23rd
- Supporting presentations and consensus presentations deadline is still TBD.
- Comment resolution will begin in the second half of October

Presentation #1:

"Even-Odd Jitter (EOJ) Test Method", Rob Sleigh

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/sept16_20/calvin_3ck_adhoc_01_091620.pdf

- Discussed the pattern effect on the EOJ measurement.
- Discussed the CR loop bandwidth impact on the results on slide 11.

Presentation #2:

"Cable Assembly ERL & MTF Performance", Bruce Campion

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/sept16 20/champion 3ck adhoc 01 091620.pdf

- Discussed MCB and HCB parameters assumed in the ERL analysis .
- There was a request to include COM parameters in the presentation.

Chair noted in a review of the draft that TPOv was a major change to the document and had asked the Chief Editor to provide an overview of the topic.

Presentation #3:

"What to do with TP0a and TP5a ", Matt Brown

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/sept16_20/brown_3ck_adhoc_01a_091620.pdf

- Updated version '01a'. No objection.
- Discussed various aspects of the figure on slide 7.
- On slide 3, the title should reference "KR/C2C" not "KR/C2M".

Straw Poll #1

At this time, I support removing the example TX test fixture in 163.9.2.2.

Y: 10, N: 11, A: 15

Straw Poll #2:

At this time, I support replacing the Rx test fixture specification with the proposal on slide 12 of brown_3ck_adhoc_01a_200916

Y: 14, N: 7, A: 15

Chair reminded the task force that Draft 1.3 was currently open for task force review. Review closes 23 September 2020 AoE.

Chair reminded participants of the ad hoc on 23 September.

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~9:05 am Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by	9/16 Ad Hoc
Adam Healey	Broadcom	Broadcom	x
Adee Ran	Intel	Intel	x
Alex Haser	Molex	Molex	x
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	x
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco	x
Bill Kirkland	Semtech	Semtech	x
Biman Chattopadhyay	Synopsys	Synopsys	x
Bruce Champion	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity	x
Bupesh Pandita	Microsoft	Microsoft	x
Champion (Chien Ping) Kao	Intel	Intel	x
Chan Chih (David) Chen	Applied Optoelectronics	Applied Optoelectronics	x
David Malicoat	Senko	Independent	x
David Ofelt	Juniper	Juniper	x
David Piehler	Dell EMC	Dell EMC	x
Ed Frlan	Semtech	Semtech	x
Ed Ulrichs	Intel	Intel	x
Enis Akbaba	Maxim Integrated	Maxim Integrated	x
Frank Chang	Source Photonics	Source Photonics	x
Gary Nicholl	Cisco	Cisco	X

Geoff Zhang	Xilinx	Xilinx	x
German Feyh	Broadcom	Broadcom	X
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight	Keysight	X
Greg McSorley	Amphenol	Amphenol	X
Hormoz Djahanshahi	Microchip	Microchip	X
Howard Heck	Intel	Intel	X
Hsinho Wu	Intel	Intel	X
Inho Kim	Marvell	Marvell	X
Jamal Riani	Inphi	Inphi	X
James Weaver	Arista	Arista	X
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco	x
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom	X
Jeffery Maki	Juniper	Juniper	X
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight	X
John Ewen	Marvell	Marvell	X
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose	X
Kumaran Krishnasamy	Broadcom	Broadcom	X
Leesa Noujeim	Google	Google	X
Mark Kimber	Semtech	Semtech	X
Masashi Shimanouchi	Intel	Intel	X
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei	X
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek	X
Mike Dudek	Marvell	Marvell	X

Mike Li	Intel	Intel	x
Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity	x
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo	x
Piers Dawe	NVIDIA	NVIDIA	x
Pirooz Tooyserkani	Cisco	Cisco	x
Priyank Shukla	Synopsys	Synopsys	x
Rajmohan Hegde	Broadcom	Broadcom	X
Rich Mellitz	Samtec	Samtec	X
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight	X
Robert Sleigh	Keysight	Keysight	X
Ryan Latchman	Macom	Macom	X
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol	X
Scott Sommers	Molex	Molex	X
Scott Walley	Max Linear	Max Linear	X
SJ Yu	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect	X
Stephen Didde	Keysight	Keysight	X
Steve Sekel	Keysight	Keysight	x
Tao Hu	Marvell	Marvell	x
Tedros Tsegaye	Innolight	Innolight	x
Terry Little	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect	x
Timothy De Keulenaer	NVIDIA	NVIDIA	x
Tom Palkert	Macom/Samtec	Macom/Samtec	x
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext	X

Xiang He	Huawei	Huawei	X
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo	X