IEEE 802 July Plenary Joint IEEE P802.3ct / P802.3cw Task Force Electronic Meeting

16 July 2020

Approved Meeting Minutes, Prepared by John D'Ambrosia

Meeting called to order at 10:00 am ET (all times ET)

Chair noted that attendance was being taken by IMAT today and told everyone it would be available today (7/16) until 11:59:59am EDT.

Presentation #1 – Agenda and General Information

Presenter: John D'Ambrosia

URL: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ct/public/20 07/agenda 3ctcw b 200716.pdf

The Chair asked if there were any objections to the agenda (Slide #2). There were none and the agenda was considered approved.

Chair asked if there were any requests to modify the 7/9 minutes –

There were no requests to modify the noted minutes. The Chair asked if there any objections to approving these minutes. There were none, and the minutes were considered approved.

Chair noted that the agenda deck had been sent out, and requested that individuals review the following IEEE SA policies prior to the interim meeting –

- IEEE SA Participation Policy
- IEEE SA Copyright Policy
- IEEE SA Patent Policy

Chair asked if anyone needed to review the policies at that time – there were no requests to do so. Chair did call for Potentially Essential Patents, and no one came forward.

The chair reviewed the status of future joint Task Force meetings.

Presentation #2 IEEE P02.3cw Chief Editor's Report

Presenter Tom Issenhuth

URL http://www.ieee802.org/3/cw/public/20 07/issenhuth 3cw 01 200716.pdf

General discussion about presentation and plans on how to maintain the schedule. The chair asked for any feedback and there was none.

There was an issue with meeting link and delay with the next presenter (Winston Way) joining to present, so the following presentation was heard.

Presentation #3 IEEE P802.3ct Chief Editor's Opening Report and Comment Resolution Agenda

Presenter Tom Issenhuth

URL http://www.ieee802.org/3/ct/public/20 07/issenhuth 3ct 01 200716.pdf

Due to issues with presenter (Winston Way) joining the chair directed the Chief Editor to begin IEEE P802.3ct comment consideration. The chair noted that comment consideration would continue until 11:25am, at which point Winston Way's presentation would be heard.

Comment Consideration started at ≈10:18am

The Chief Editor noted that comment consideration would start with comments related to SIGNAL_DETECT (Comments 69, 79, 80, 104, 105, 110, 111)

Presentation #4 Comments 69, 79, 80, 104, 105, 110, 111: DWDM SIGNAL DETECT behavior

Presenter Eric Maniloff

URL http://www.ieee802.org/3/ct/public/20 07/maniloff 3ct 01a 200716.pdf

There was general discussion and questions about the presentation and the possible options proposed. Based on this conversation, the Chair chartered the DWDM SIGNAL_DETECT behavior ad hoc, chaired by Eric Maniloff, to develop proposed remedies via teleconferences by July 28th for consideration at the July 30th Interim Task Force Meeting. There were no objections.

Chief Editor asked for additional time to address comment #88 to close out front matter. Based on Winston Way indicating the amount of time needed for his presentation, the chair gave the Chief Editor until 11:30am for comment consideration.

Comment consideration ended at 11:28am

Presentation #5 A Methodology to Obtain OSNR Penalty vs Optical Inter-Channel Crosstalk

Presenter Winston Way

URL http://www.ieee802.org/3/cw/public/20 07/way 3cw 01 200716.pdf

There were questions and discussion regarding the presentation. Chair noted importance of submitting proposals in order to generate D1.0 to proceed to Task Force Review.

Meeting adjourned at 11:55 am ET.

Attendees

Name	Affiliation
Abbott, John	Corning Incorporated
Aekins, Rob	Legrand
Akbaba, Enis	Maxim Integrated Products
Andrae, Stefan	SEI ANTech-Europe GmbH
Anslow, Peter	Self
bordogna, mark	Intel
Brooks, Paul	Viavi Solutions
Brown, Matthew	Huawei Technologies Canada
Bruckman, Leon	HUAWEI
Chang, Xin	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Chang, Yongmao	Source Photonics
Chen, Chan	Applied Optoelectronics, Inc.
Choudhury, Golam	OFS
Chuang, Keng Hua	Hewlett-Packard Development Company, L.P.
D'Ambrosia, John	Futurewei (U.S. Subsidiary of Huawei)
Dawe, Piers J G	Mellanox Technologies
Deandrea, John	Finisar Corporation
Dube, Kathryn	UNH-IOL
Engenhardt, Klaus	Keysight Technologies
Ewen, John	Marvell
FAn, DAWEI	Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd
Fukuoka, Takashi	AutoNetworks Technologies Ltd.; Sumitomo Electric Industries, Ltd.

Geng, Limin	HUAWEI
Ghiasi, Ali	Ghiasi Quantum LLC, Inphi
Glanzner, Martin	Sumitomo Electric Industries, LTD
Gong, Zhigang	O-Net Communications Ltd.
Gustlin, Mark	Cisco Systems, Inc.
He, Xiang	HUAWEI
Hidaka, Yasuo	INDEPENDENT
HIRASE, HIDENARI	AGC.Inc
Huber, Thomas	Nokia
HYAKUTAKE, YASUHIRO	Adamant Namiki Precision Jewel Co., Ltd.
Ingham, Jonathan	Broadcom Corporation
ISHIBE, KAZUHIKO	Anritsu Company
Isono, Hideki	Fujitsu Optical Components Limited
Issenhuth, Tom	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Jackson, Kenneth	Sumitomo Electric Industries, LTD
Jonsson, Ragnar	Marvell
Kareti, Upen	Cisco Systems, Inc.
Kikuta, Tomohiro	Adamant Namiki Precision Jewel Co., Ltd.
Kimber, Eric	Semtech Ltd
Klempa, Michael	University of New Hampshire InterOperability Laboratory (UNH-IOL)
Kochuparambil, Elizabeth	Cisco Systems, Inc.
Koeppendoerfer, Erwin	LEONI
Kota, Kishore	Inphi Corporation
Lackner, Hans	QoSCom - Quality in Communications - GmbH
Lambrecht, Frank	Gigamon, Inc.
Le Cheminant, Greg	Keysight Technologies
Lewis, David	Lumentum Inc.
Lim, Jane	Cisco Systems, Inc.
Lin, Alex	MediaTek Inc.
Lingle, Robert	OFS
Liu, Hai-Feng	Intel Corporation
Liu, Karen	Lightwave Logic
Lusted, Kent	Intel Corporation
Maguire, Valerie	The Siemon Company
Malicoat, David	Malicoat Networking Solutions; SENKO Advanced Components
Maniloff, Eric	Ciena Corporation
Marques, Flavio	FURUKAWA ELECTRIC
Marris, Arthur	Cadence Design Systems, Inc.
MASUDA, TAKEO	OITDA
mi, guangcan	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Nakamoto, Edward	Spirent Communications
New, Anthony	Prysmian Cables & Systems
Nicholl, Gary	Cisco Systems, Inc.
Nicholl, Shawn	Xilinx
Nowell, Mark	Cisco Systems, Inc.
Ofelt, David	Juniper Networks, Inc.
Ogawa, Daisuke	NTT Electronics
Ogura, Ichiro	PETRA

Omori, Kumi	NEC Corporation
Parsons, Earl	CommScope, Inc. Dell EMC
Piehler, David	
Pittala, Fabio	Huawei Technologies Duesseldorf GmbH
Pitwon, Richard	AIO Core
Rabinovich, Rick	Keysight Technologies
Ramesh, Sridhar	Maxlinear Inc
Ren, Hao	HUAWEI
Savi, Olindo	Hubbell Incorporated
SAWANO, Hiroshi	OITDA
Schmitt, Matthew	Cable Television Laboratories Inc. (CableLabs)
Sekel, Steve	Keysight Technologies
She, Qingya	Fujitsu Network Communications
Sluyski, Michael	Acacia Communications
Sommers, Scott	Molex Incorporated
Sone, Yoshiaki	Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation (NTT)
Sorbara, Massimo	GLOBALFOUNDIRES
Souvignier, Tom	Broadcom Corporation
Sprague, Edward	Infinera Corporation
Stassar, Peter	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Sun, Junqing	Credo Semiconductor
TAKAHARA, TOMOO	FUJITSU LIMITED
Takahashi, Satoshi	Self Employed
Theodoras, James	HG Genuine
Torres, Luis	Knowledge Development for Plastic Optical Fiber
Tracy, Nathan	TE Connectivity
Trowbridge, Stephen	Nokia
Wang, Roy	Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Wang, Ruoxu	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Wang, Xinyuan	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Weaver, James	Arista Networks
Williams, Tom	Acacia Communications
Yonezawa, Kenji	AGC Inc.
Young, James	CommScope
Zhang, Bo	Inphi Corporation
Zhuang, Yan	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd