Joint IEEE P802.3ct / P802.3cw Task Force Interim Teleconference Meeting

Interim Teleconference Meeting, 02 Apr 2020

Unapproved Meeting Minutes, Prepared by Matt Schmitt & John D'Ambrosia

Meeting called to order at 10:00 am ET (all times ET)

Chaired by David Law

Chair appointed Matt Schmitt Recording Secretary

Motion #1 Confirm John D'Ambrosia as the IEEE P802.3cw 400 Gb/s over DWDM Systems Task Force

Chair

Moved by Steve Trowbridge Second by Mark Nowell

Results All (y/n/a) Approved by voice vote without opposition

Motion #2 Confirm Tom Issenhuth as the IEEE P802.3cw 400 Gb/s over DWDM Systems Task Force Vice-

Chair

Moved by Ali Ghiasi Second by Nathan Tracy

Results All (y/n/a) Approved by voice vote without opposition

Motion #3 Confirm Tom Issenhuth as the IEEE P802.3ct 100 Gb/s over DWDM Systems Task Force Vice-

Chair

Moved by Matt Schmitt Second by Matt Brown

Results All (y/n/a) Approved by voice vote without opposition

D'Ambrosia assumed chairing meeting at 10:12 am

Chair noted that attendance was being taken by IMAT today and told everyone it would be available to 12pm EDT.

Presentation #1 – Agenda and General Information

Presenter: John D'Ambrosia

URL: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ct/public/tf_interim/20_0402/agenda_3ctcw_b_200402.pdf

Chair asked if there were objections to the agenda (Slide #2). There were none and the agenda was considered approved.

There were no objections to approving the 3/26 minutes, and they were considered approved.

Chair noted that the agenda deck had been sent out, and requested that individuals review the following IEEE SA policies prior to the interim meeting –

- IEEE SA Participation Policy
- IEEE SA Copyright Policy
- IEEE SA Patent Policy

Chair asked if anyone needed to review the policies at that time – there were no requests to do so. Chair did call for Potentially Essential Patents, and no one came forward.

The Vice-Chair assumed chairing the meeting at 10:22 am

Presentation #2 - Review of Decisions in P802.3ct related to P802.3cw

Presenter: John D'Ambrosia

URL: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ct/public/tf interim/20 0227/dambrosia 3cw 01 200227.pdf

General discussion about presentation.

Presentation #3 – Revisiting the P802.3cw Timeline

Presenter: John D'Ambrosia

URL: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cw/public/tf interim/20 0402/dambrosia 3cw 01a 200402.pdf

General discussion about presentation

Chair resumed chairing meeting @ 10:41 am

Motion #4 Move to approve all motions related to 400 GbE over DWDM systems by IEEE P802.3ct Task

Force noted on Slide #3 of dambrosia_3cw_01_200227

Moved by Tom Issenhuth
Second by Ali Ghiasi
Technical >=75%

Results All (y/n/a) Approved by unanimous consent

Add comment about that there have been some changes to the OIF 400ZR presentation since the baseline was adopted. It was noted that there was no new baseline to adopt to reflect these changes, so it was suggested to approve the prior motion, and deal with any differences via comment during the task force comment phase.

Motion #5 Move to adopt project timeline specified on Slide #3 of dambrosia_3cw_01a_200402.pdf for

IEEE P802.3cw

Moved by Steve Trowbridge Second by Mark Nowell

Technical >=75%

Results All (y/n/a) Approved by unanimous consent

Chair briefly did overview of voting, Requirements to Proceed to WG Ballot, and Task Force Comment Phase.

Presentation #4 - Chief Editor's Comment Resolution Agenda

Presenter: Tom Issenhuth

URL: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ct/public/tf interim/20 0402/issenhuth 3ct 01 200402.pdf

Comment consideration began @ 10:57

During Comment 89 the following presentation was given.

Presentation #5 – Evolution of Clauses 154.8.13 and 154.8.15

Presenter: Matt Schmitt

URL: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ct/public/tf interim/20 0402/schmitt 3ct 01 200402.pdf

Comment Consideration ended @ 11:24 am

Presentation #6 – Chief Editor's opening report and comment resolution agenda (Updated 3/25)

Presenter: Tom Issenhuth

URL: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ct/public/tf interim/20 0326/issenhuth 3ct 01c 200312.pdf

Chair noted that for comments requested to be re-opened that the requestor would be given 2 minutes to explain perspective on why comment should be revisited, and the Task Force would decide if it wished to revisit it at that time.

Chief Editor updated the presentation based on the results of this meeting.

URL: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ct/public/tf interim/20 0402/issenhuth 3ct 01d 200312.pdf

It was noted that an update to the comment responses would be posted, reflecting the status of comments closed at the meeting. Chief Editor noted that individuals would have two business days to request revisiting comments.

Chair thanked everyone for patience and understanding going forward and reminded everyone of deadlines for submitting presentation requests for next meeting.

Chair reminded everyone that attendance would be taken by the IMAT tool and everyone had until noon EDT to sign in and indicated attendance.

Meeting adjourned @ ≈11:32 am

Attendees

Attenuees	
Name	Affiliation
Brown, Matthew	Huawei Technologies Canada
Bruckman, Leon	HUAWEI
Chang, Yongmao	Source Photonics
D'Ambrosia, John	Futurewei (U.S. Subsidiary of Huawei)
Ferretti, Vincent	Corning Incorporated
Geng, Limin	HUAWEI
Ghiasi, Ali	Ghiasi Quantum LLC, Inphi
He, Xiang	HUAWEI
Huber, Thomas	Nokia
Issenhuth, Tom	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Jackson, Kenneth	Sumitomo Electric Industries, LTD
Law, David	Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Le Cheminant, Greg	Keysight Technologies
Lewis, David	Lumentum Inc.
Liu, Karen	Lightwave Logic
Maki, Jeffery	Juniper Networks, Inc.
Malicoat, David	Malicoat Networking Solutions; SENKO Advanced Components
Maniloff, Eric	Ciena Corporation
Nowell, Mark	Cisco Systems, Inc.
Ofelt, David	Juniper Networks, Inc.
Piehler, David	Dell EMC
Sambasivan, Sam	AT&T
Schmitt, Matthew	Cable Television Laboratories Inc. (CableLabs)
Sluyski, Michael	Acacia Communications
Sone, Yoshiaki	Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation (NTT)
Stassar, Peter	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Sun, Junqing	Credo Semiconductor
TAKAHARA, TOMOO	FUJITSU LIMITED
Tracy, Nathan	TE Connectivity
Trowbridge, Stephen	Nokia
Wang, Xinyuan	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Xu, Yu	Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd
Zhang, Bo	Inphi Corporation