Unapproved Minutes

IEEE P802.3cu 100 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s over SMF at 100 Gb/s per Wavelength Task Force

Interim Meeting March 24, 2020

Interim Teleconference

Prepared by Kenneth Jackson and Mark Nowell

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

<u>IEEE P802.3cu 100 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s over SMF at 100 Gb/s per Wavelength Task Force</u>
<u>Attendees</u>

IEEE P802.3cu 100 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s over SMF at 100 Gb/s per Wavelength Task Force – March 24, 2020

Prepared by Kenneth Jackson

Meeting convened at 2PM (GMT) 7AM (Pacific)

Chaired by Mark Nowell.

Attendance pulled from the WebEx tool. If joining via phone (only) send email to Mark Nowell stating your attendance.

Chair reviewed agenda in

http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/cu/public/March20/agenda 3cu 01 032420.pdf

Presented the proposed agenda and asked if there was objection as written.

The agenda was approved by the Task Force.

Minutes from the previous interim meeting (March 17) were posted shortly after the meeting.

Chair asked if there were any changes needed to the minutes from the last meeting that were posted. The minutes were approved by the Task Force.

Chair pointed out that the Patent, Copyright and Attendance policies have been sent out in the meeting announcements and asked if anyone was unfamiliar with them.

http://ieee802.org/3/policies.html

Chair reviewed the patent policy. Call for patents at 7:09AM (Pacfic). No patents noted.

Goal for this meeting:

- Continue Resolving comments against D2.0
- Review technical presentations made in support of comments
- Straw polls/motions as needed

Chair reviewed current Task Force Status

- Summarized Directional Straw Polls taken at 3/17 meeting
- Reviewed todays goals and what was on the radar for future meetings

Multiple interim teleconference meetings scheduled over the month of March/April. Tuesday of each week. 7AM Pacific start time. Today's meeting is 2 hours long. Meeting dates and tentative topics showed.

Presentation requests must be made the <u>Thursday before the meeting</u>, and presentations submitted on the Friday before the meeting to be posted during the weekend. Presentation time will be limited to 15 minutes.

3 technical presentations to be given today.

Two presentations were late (Rodes and Zivny). Task Force was asked if there was any opposition to hearing these two late presentations. No opposition was raised.

Presentation #1: "P802.3cu D2.0 Comment Resolution Agenda", Gary Nicholl

See http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/cu/public/March20/nicholl 3cu 01 032420.pdf

- Reviewed the comments to be addressed: 10log(Ceq) and if time permits Overshoot and other comments noted.
- Next meeting: Reach

Presentation #2: "Implementation of Changes related to 10log10Ceq (Comment #56)", Gary Nicholl

See http://www.ieee802.org/3/cu/public/March20/nicholl 3cu 02a 032420.pdf

• Presenter reviewed tables/text that needed to be revised per the straw polls.

Comment resolution started.

Presentation #3: "On guarding against overshoot TDECQ measurement; Rev. 1", Pavel Zivny

See http://www.ieee802.org/3/cu/public/March20/zivny 3cu 01 032420.pdf

• Update from last week's presentation.

Presentation #4: "Update on Overshoot-Limit Proposal", Roberto Rodes

See http://www.ieee802.org/3/cu/public/March20/rodes 3cu 01 032420.pdf

 Detailed proposed changes to the draft as a result of the decision to adopt an overshoot limit.

Comment resolution continued.

Comments resolution finished

Mark requested to adjourn the meeting. No objections raised. *Meeting adjourned ~9AM (Pacific)*

Attendees (Taken from Webex Attendance)

John Abbott	Corning	

Adam Healey	Broadcom
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum
Bill Kirkland	semtech
BRIAN WELCH	Cisco
Chan Chih (David) Chen (AOI)	AOI
Chris Cole	II-VI
David Lewis	Lumentum
david malicoat	Independent
David Ofelt	Juniper
David Piehler	Dell EMC
Earl Parsons	
Ed Ulrichs	Source Photonics
Frank Chang	Source Photonics
Gary Nicholl	Cisco
Geoff Thompson	Independent
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight
guangcan	
Hideki Isono	Fujitsu
inho kim	Marvell
James Young	Commscope
jeff hutchins	Ranovus
Jeffery Maki	Juniper
John Calvin (Keysight)	Keysight
John DAmbrosia	FutureWei
Ken Jackson	Sumitomo
Klaus Engenhardt	
Leon Bruckman	Huawei

Maniloff, Eric	Ciena
Mark Kimber	Semtech
Mark Nowell	Cisco
Massimo Sorbara	Global Foundries
Matt Brown	Huawei
Mike Dudek	Marvell
Peter Stassar	Huawei
Phil Sun	Credo
Piers Dawe	Mellanox
Qing Xu	Ranovus
Raymond Nering	Cisco
Roberto Rodes	II-VI
Ruoxu Wang	
sam sambasivan	AT&T
Stephen Didde	Keysight
Steve Trowbridge	Nokia
Thomas Palkert	Molex
Tom Issenhuth	Huawei
Vipul Bhatt (II-VI)	II-VI
Xiang He	
Xinyuan Wang	Huawei
Yoshiaki Sone(NTT)	NTT
Xu (Helen) Yu	Huawei