IEEE P802.3cw Task Force Interim Teleconference Meeting

Interim Teleconference Meeting, 07 May 2020 Approved Meeting Minutes, Prepared by John D'Ambrosia Meeting called to order at 10:01 am ET (all times ET)

Chair noted that attendance was being taken by IMAT today and told everyone it would be available today until 11:59:59am EDT.

The chair noted that attendance of the meeting does not count towards voting rights, but encouraged everyone to get in habit of signing in to record attendance for interim teleconference meetings.

## Presentation #1 – Agenda and General Information

 Presenter:
 John D'Ambrosia

 URL:
 http://www.ieee802.org/3/cw/public/tf\_interim/20\_0507/agenda\_3cw\_a\_200507.pdf

Chair asked if there were objections to the agenda (Slide #2). There were none and the agenda was considered approved.

Chair noted that the presentation submitted by Mike Sluyski had been updated that morning. The chair asked Mr. Sluyski to describe the changes. The chair asked the Task Force if there were any objections to hearing the updated presentation. There were no objections.

Chair asked if there were any requests to modify the 4/23 minutes http://www.ieee802.org/3/cw/public/tf interim/20 0423/minutes 3cw 200423 unapproved.pdf.

There were no requests to modify the noted minutes. The Chair asked if there were any objections to approving these minutes. There were none, and the minutes were considered approved.

Chair reviewed voting. Chair noted that if any roll call votes were necessary, he was planning on using Doodle to conduct any role call motions that might be necessary. Chair asked if there were any objections – none were made.

Chair noted that the agenda deck had been sent out, and requested that individuals review the following IEEE SA policies prior to the interim meeting –

- IEEE SA Participation Policy
- IEEE SA Copyright Policy
- IEEE SA Patent Policy

Chair asked if anyone needed to review the policies at that time – there were no requests to do so. Chair did call for Potentially Essential Patents, and no one came forward.

Presentation #2	Questions, comments, and concerns on 400GBASE-ZR Baseline proposal
Presenter	Peter Stassar
URL	http://www.ieee802.org/3/cw/public/tf_interim/20_0507/stassar_3cw_01_200507.pdf

There were questions of clarification and general discussion.

Presentation #3	Update on Baseline Proposal: 400GBASE-ZR operation on 75 GHz grid
Presenter	Mike Sluyski
URL	http://www.ieee802.org/3/cw/public/tf_interim/20_0507/sluyski_3cw_01a_200507.pdf

There were questions of clarification and general discussion.

Proposed non-contentious parameters and proposed values are shown on Slides 11 - 14. These parameters and values were discussed, and updates were made to these slides. Chair noted that the marked-up presentation would be noted as sluyski\_3cw\_02\_200507, and would be uploaded to the webpage, noted as "Updated per TF Discussion."

Chair noted that during discussion of "Items for further study" he would be using this to help drive agendas of future meetings.

Strawpoll #1 -	I would support updating the parameter list on slides 4 to 6 of stassar_3ct_02_0719 with the parameter list and values specified on slides 11 – 14 of sluyski_3cw_02_200507.
Yes	29
No	1
Abstain	4
Motion #1 -	Adopt updating the parameter list on slides 4 to 6 of stassar_3ct_02_0719 with the parameter list and values specified on slides 11 – 14 of sluyski_3cw_02_200507.
Moved	Mark Nowell
Second	Eric Maniloff
Technical	>=75%
Results (802.3 Voters)	Passed by voice vote without objection

Chair reviewed future joint .3ct / .3cw TF Interim teleconference meetings.

- 14-May-2020, 10:00am to 12:00pm ET
- 28-May-2020, 10:00am to 12:00pm ET
- 04-Jun-2020, 10:00am to 12:00pm ET
- 11-Jun-2020, 10:00am to 12:00pm ET
- 18-Jun-2020, 10:00am to 12:00pm ET
- 25-Jun-2020, 10:00am to 12:00pm ET

Chair thanked Mr. Sluyski and the contributors for their efforts in developing the baseline presentation.

Meeting adjourned @ 11:56am.

## **Meeting Attendees**

Name Bruckman, Leon Chouinard, Michel D'Ambrosia, John Deandrea, John Du, Liang Engenhardt, Klaus Ferretti, Vincent Geng, Limin He, Xiang Isono, Hideki Issenhuth, Tom Jackson, Kenneth Le Cheminant, Greg Lewis, David Malicoat, David Maniloff, Eric mi, guangcan Nowell, Mark Ogawa, Daisuke Piehler, David Pittala, Fabio Sambasivan, Sam Schmitt, Matthew Sluyski, Michael Sone, Yoshiaki Sorbara, Massimo Stassar, Peter Tracy, Nathan Trowbridge, Stephen Wang, Ruoxu Wang, Xinyuan Way, Winston Xu, Yu Zhang, Bo

Affiliation HUAWEI EXFO Futurewei (U.S. Subsidiary of Huawei) **Finisar Corporation** Google Keysight Technologies **Corning Incorporated** HUAWEI HUAWEI Fujitsu Optical Components Limited Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd Sumitomo Electric Industries, LTD Keysight Technologies Lumentum Inc. Malicoat Networking Solutions; SENKO Advanced Components **Ciena Corporation** Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd Cisco Systems, Inc. **NTT Electronics** Dell EMC Huawei Technologies Duesseldorf GmbH AT&T Cable Television Laboratories Inc. (CableLabs) Acacia Communications Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation (NTT) GLOBALFOUNDIRES Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd **TE Connectivity** Nokia Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd **NeoPhotonics Corporation** Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd Inphi Corporation