# Minutes IEEE P802.3cy Greater than 10 Gb/s Electrical Automotive Ethernet PHY TF AdHoc meeting December 21, 2021

Prepared by Natalie Wienckowski

#### **Proposed Agenda:**

Title	Presenters(s)	Affiliation(s)
Agenda	Natalie Wienckowski (ad hoc Chair)	General Motors
TF Chair's Comments	Steve Carlson	High Speed Design, Robert Bosch GmbH, Ethernovia
New Parameter Values for Micro-Reflection Limits	Ragnar Jonsson	Marvell
FEC and Interleaving Candidate	Ragnar Jonsson Mike Tu Alejandro Castrillon	Marvell Broadcom Marvell
Discussion of: EEE Scenarios for Automotive Links	George Zimmerman	ADI, APL Group, Cisco, CommScope, Marvell, SenTekSe
P802.3cy To-do list	Natalie Wienckowski	General Motors
Closing Remarks	Steve Carlson	High Speed Design, Robert Bosch GmbH, Ethernovia

See adhoc webpage for agenda deck and presentations

#### Agenda/Admin Natalie Wienckowski as ad hoc chair:

Meeting began at 10:03 am ET.

#### **Introductions & Affiliations.**

### Presented file: cv Task Force adhoc agenda 12 21 21.pdf

- 1. Reviewed the Attendance information related to the ad hoc.
- 2. Displayed patent slide deck and asked if any participant had not read the IEEE-SA Patent Slides slide set, none responded.
  - Call for Patents was made at 10:10 am Eastern Time, none responded
- 3. Displayed the IEEE-SA Copyright policy slide and asked if any participant had not read the IEEE copyright slide set, none responded.
- 4. Displayed the IEEE-SA Participation slide and reviewed it.
- 5. Reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation for the meeting minutes.

Instructions for subscribing to the reflector may be found at <a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/cy/reflector.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/cy/reflector.html</a>. If you cannot subscribe to the reflector for some reason, and need additional assistance please contact the Task Force chair.

Chair's comments: None at this time

### **Presentations/Discussion:**

Presentation: New Parameter Values for Micro-Reflection Limits (Ragnar Jonsson, Marvell)

Ragnar presented an updated proposal for microreflections based on discussions with cable experts. The change is to support a larger group of cables based on testing by changing the number of segments to discard to 16 from 12.

Presentation: <u>FEC and Interleaving Candidate</u> (Ragnar Jonsson, Marvell; Mike Tu, Broadcom; Alejandro Castrillon, Marvell)

Ragnar presented a joint proposal for FEC and Interleaving for P802.3cy. There is still some ongoing discussion for the maximum interleaving value. While the relative complexity may seem large, the RS-FEC and Interleaving size is a small part of the PHY and provides good "bang for the buck".

Presentation: Discussion of: <u>EEE Scenarios for Automotive Links</u> (George Zimmerman, ADI, APL Group, Cisco, CommScope, Marvell, SenTekSe)

George briefly reviewed his presentation from December 7<sup>th</sup>.

There was discussion on the Recommendations/questions on slide 11.

#### Presentation: P802.3cy To-do list usage (Natalie Wienckowski, General Motors)

The to-do list was reviewed and updated. Participants are urged to review the list for topics they can support and for missing topics. Please send a message to the reflector with requested changes to the list.

The current list can be found on this page: <u>To Do spreadsheets</u>

## **Closing Discussion**

Consider joining the 802EC reflector if you are interested in the discussion on the March plenary fees.

Thanks to everyone for the incredible work and team work on collaborating on the contributions.

Please review the D0.4 and submit comments prior to the extended deadline of January 4th, AOE.

Make sure you respond to the open ballots if you are an 802.3 voter.

Check your voting status: https://ieee802.org/3/ballots/ballot returns.pdf

Find open ballots: <a href="https://ieee802.org/3/ballots/announce.html">https://ieee802.org/3/ballots/announce.html</a>

During the task force interim meeting on January 11<sup>th</sup>, David Law will propose Natalie Wienckowski as the TF vice chair and there will be a vote by the TF to confirm her.

Our next meeting will be on January 11<sup>th</sup>.

# Attendees (download participant list, email)

First	Last	Affiliation	
Alejandro	Castrillon	Marvell	
Bill	Simms	Nvidia	
Brett	McClellan	Marvell	
Chris	Goralka	Foxconn Interconnect Technology	
Christian	Neulinger	MD Elektronik	
Claude	Gauthier	NXP	
David	Law	HPE	
Eric J	Chang	Intel Corporation	
Erwin	Köeppendörfer	Leoni Kabel GmbH	
George	Zimmerman	CME Consulting / ADI, APL Group, Cisco Systems, CommScope, Marvell, SenTekSe	
Giuseppe	Tofanicchio	ST	
Harsh	Patel	Amphenol ICC	
Hossein	Sedarat	Ethernovia	
Jamila	Borda	BMW	
Jim	Graba	Broadcom	
Jonathan	Silvano de Sousa	GG - Austria	
Keisuke	Kawahara	FURUKAWA ELECTRIC	
Leon	Bruckman	Huawei	
Louise	Yi	FIT	
Manabu	Kagami	NITech (Nagoya Institute of Technology)	
Martin	Glanzner	SEI ANTech Europe GmbH	
Mike	Tu	Broadcom	
Natalie	Wienckowski	General Motors	
Nobuyasu	Araki	Yazaki	
Peter	Wu	Marvell	
Ragnar	Jonsson	Marvell	
Roger	Karem	Upower	
Sami	Akin	vw	
Steve	Carlson	High Speed Design, Robert Bosch GmbH, Ethernovia	
Taiji	Kondo	MegaChips	
Terry	Little	Foxconn Interconnect Technology	
Thomas	Müller	Rosenberger	
Tingting	Zhang	Huawei	
Tom	Souvignier	Broadcom	
Toshihiro	Ichimaru	Sumitomo	
Toshihisa	Hyakudai	Sony	
Yoshihiro	Niihara	Fujikura Ltd.	

First	Last	Affiliation
TOTAL	37	Attendees