To: Rick Townsend, T1E1 Chair Ed Eckert, T1E1 Vice Chair Massimo Sorbara, T1E1.4 Chair Tom Starr, T1E1.4 Vice Chair Members of Working Group T1E1.4

From: IEEE 802.3ah EFM Task Force

Subject: Update on the progress of the Ethernet in the First Mile Copper sub-taskforce

Dear Chairmen, Members of Working Group T1E1.4,

The IEEE 802.3ah "Ethernet in the First Mile" Task Force held its seventh meeting this week (July 9-11) in Vancouver, BC. During this meeting, the Copper Sub Task Force approved the outline for the first draft of the clauses containing the point-to-point copper PHY specifications. The Copper Sub Task Force further refined certain aspects of the baseline proposal for the short-reach objective (based on VDSL) and reviewed baseline proposals for its recently adopted long-reach objective (PHY for single-pair, non-loaded, voice-grade copper, distance $\geq 2700m$ and speed $\geq 2Mbps$ full duplex).

The IEEE 802.3ah Task Force desires to make a final decision about the VDSL line code for their short-reach point-to-point copper PHY in a timely manner. The Task Force recognizes that Committee T1 has a goal of making a VDSL line code decision as a function of the trial use period of T1.424/Trial-Use, and has unanimously approved the following motion:

Adopt presentation "rezvani_1_0302.pdf" (with addition of comments document "notes_to_the_editor_1_0302.doc", with the exception of note 13) as the basis of the first draft.

Adopt "omahony_copper_1_0702.pdf" as the basis for the line code evaluation criteria. The line code selection process recognizes that Committee T1 has a goal of making a VDSL line code decision and will give due weight to that decision.

We invite you to review our line code evaluation criteria document http://www.ieee802.org/3/efm/public/jul02/copper/omahony_copper_1_0702.pdf and hope you will be able to take our criteria into account during your line code selection process.

Regards,

Howard Frazier, IEEE 802.3ah Chair Hugh Barrass, IEEE 802.3ah Copper STF Chair Michael Beck, acting liaison IEEE 802.3-T1E1.4

Cc: Robert Grow, IEEE 802.3 WG Chair Paul Nikolich, IEEE 802 LMSC Chair