Draft proposed liaison to IEEE 802.3ah for consideration by T1E1.4

TO: Howard Frazier, IEEE 802.3ah Task Force chair; other EFM officers

Subject: Status of "VDSL1" standardization in ATIS Committee T1E1

Dear Mr. Frazier:

At its February 23-26, 2004 meeting, Subcommittee T1E1.4 considered comments received on the default Letter Ballot for T1.424, the draft ANSI standard for VDSL. As a result of the resolution of these comments, several technical changes were made to the draft standard. The primary intent of these changes was to align T1.424 with the White Contribution for G.993.1-2004, the draft ITU-T Recommendation for VDSL1. They mostly consist of changes to the handshaking text, and resolution of ambiguities in the specification of some VTU-R registers in section 10.6.2.4.

As a result of these changes, our procedures require a second 30-day default Letter Ballot cycle, which will close not later than April 6. At this point we believe the text is very technically stable, and a further balloting cycle prior to publication is unlikely. The Letter Ballot draft text will be accessible on the T1 web site as soon as it is available.

Currently, the differences between the T1.424 draft text and the previously-published T1.424-Trial Use standard are such that we do not believe it affects how it is referenced in the EFM document. We note that you are using your own handshake code tree and bit descriptions in EFM, which makes most of the recent changes irrelevant to you. The changes to section 10.6.2.4, which mostly affect registers labeled as "Not Applicable" in the EFM document, may be found at ftp://ftp.t1.org/T1E1/E1.4/DIR2003/3e143980.pdf As the T1.424-Trial Use document will be rescinded after publication of the T1.424 American National Standard, we recommend that you reference T1.424-2004, rather than T1.424-Trial Use, in your standard.

I look forward to our continuing cooperation. Should you desire additional information, please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards,

Rick Townsend Chair, ATIS Committee T1E1

Cc: Massimo Sorbara, Subcommittee T1E1.4 Chair
Tom Starr, Subcommittee T1E1.4 Vice Chair
Ed Eckert, Committee T1E1 Vice Chair
Barry O'Mahony, EFM Cu STF Chair, barry.omahony@intel.com