

# IEEE 802.3az Energy Efficient Ethernet

Final Report

Dallas, TX November 8, 2010

Mike Bennett mjbennett@ieee.org

#### IEEE 802.3az EEE Contacts

- ■Task Force Chair
  - ■Mike Bennett (mjbennett@ieee.org)
- ■Web Master
  - ■Bruce Nordman (bnordman@lbl.gov)
- **■**Editor-in-Chief
  - Sanjay Kasturia (skasturia@teranetics.com)

#### Reflector and Web

- To subscribe to the EEE TF reflector will be shut down soon
- Task Force web page URL:

http://www.ieee802.org/3/az/

☐ Will soon be archived

#### 802.3az Task Force Report

- Since July Plenary
  - Conducted 2<sup>nd</sup> recirculation ballot
  - Ballot Open: July 16, 2010
  - ☐ Ballot Close: Aug 1, 2010
- Interim meeting on August 12, 2010
  - Hosted by LBNL
  - 1 day without teleconferencing
  - 9 people attended
  - 5 Comments considered
    - 4 withdrawn, 1 unsatisfied

#### 802.3az Task Force Report

- Conducted 3<sup>rd</sup> recirculation
  - Ballot open: August 13, 2010
  - ☐ Ballot closed: August 29, 2010
  - 1 unsatisfied comment recirculated
    - No pile-ons; no change
- WG Chair updated RevCom of ballot results
- IEEE 802.3az-2010 approved September 30, 2010
- IEEE Std 802.3az-2010 published on Wednesday October 27, 2010

### 802.3az Task Force Report

			D3.2 Second	D3.2 Third
	D3.0 Initial	D3.1 First	Recirculation	Recirculation
	Ballot	Recirculation Ballot	Ballot	Ballot
Voters	127	127	127	127
Approve	88	94	96	103
Disapprove	9	6	5	1
Disapprove without comment	0	0	0	0
Abstain	6	6	6	6
Returns	103	106	107	110
Response rate	81%	83%	84%	86%
Abstention rate	5%	5%	5%	5%
Approval rate	90%	94%	95%	99%

Ballot met required response rate >=75%, abstention rate < 30%, and approval rate >=75%

## Recognition

Bob Grow - Former WG Chair

David Law - Current WG Chair and "Wake

Time Shrinkage Ad-hoc chair

Wael Diab - WG Vice Chair, "Layer 2 Ad-hoc

chair" and Clause 79 Editor

Gavin Parnaby - Clause 55 Editor and

"10GBASE-T Ad-hoc chair"

Steve Carlson – WG Executive Secretary and

advisor

Sanjay Kasturia – Editor-in-Chief

Mandeep Chadha – Clause 14 Editor

Joseph Chou - Clause 24 and 25 Editor

Adam Healey - Clause 40 Editor

Velu Pilai – Clause 74 Editor

David Koenen – Clause 69-72 Editor

Dimitry Taich – Clause 78 Editor

Anoop Vetteth – Clause 79 Editor

Hugh Barrass – Management, Annex, PCS

and RS Clauses, Recording Secretary

**Technical Contributions:** 

Howard Frazier (also CFI presenter)

Scott Powell

Dan Dove (baseline proposals)

Rob Hays (baseline proposals)

George Zimmerman

Matt Brown

Mike Grimwood

Bill Woodruff

Jose Tellado

Mario Traeber

**Bruce Nordman** 

(CFI, Web Master, tutorials)

Ken Christensen (tutorial)

### More gratitude ...

- Thanks to Kathryn Bennett, Michelle Turner and Helen Garfinkle for your help in getting us to publication
- 802.3az Task Force for hard work and persistence
  - And for knowing when to stop making changes ...
- Glen Kramer for the EEE logo



# Thank You!