Thread Links Date Links
Thread Prev Thread Next Thread Index Date Prev Date Next Date Index

Re: [802SEC] Review of subgroups - IETF Standing Committee

-----Original Message-----
From: ***** IEEE 802 Executive Committee List ***** [] On Behalf Of James P. K. Gilb
Sent: Friday, April 03, 2015 3:46 PM
Subject: [802SEC] Review of subgroups


Our P&Ps states for "Other subgroups" that "The scope, duties, and 
membership of all subgroups shall be reviewed annually by the Sponsor."

The scope and duties of a Working Group (WG) are determined by the 
active PARs assinged to that WG.  The work of the WG in creating 
standards is reviewed by the EC multiple times and so does not fall into 
this requirement.

However, our TAGs and Standing Committees do not have PARs and so the 
Sponsor Chair has asked that we perform this review during our June 2015 
Conference call and has assigned me the task of gathering the input.

So, I need from each Standing Committee Chair or TAG Chair, slides by 
May 1, 2015 that answer the following questions:
  - Name of the subgroup
  - Chair of the subgroup (appointed by the Sponsor Chair or decided by 
nomination and election)
  - Scope of the subgroup
  - Duties of the subgroup
  - Membership of the subgroup
  - A statement of which of the following complementary activities is 
      1) The subgroup is responsible for the definitive content of one 
or more documents and for responding to views and objections thereon. 
Such subgroups shall maintain a membership roster and shall comply with 
the provisions for preparing standard(s).
     2) The subgroup is responsible for assisting the Sponsor (e.g., 
drafting all or a portion of a document, drafting responses to comments, 
drafting public statements on standards, or other purely advisory 
(I suspect all our "Other subgroups" are number 2).

I will create a single presentation and upload it to mentor.

The subgroups and Chairs that need to respond are (please correct me if 
I am wrong):
  - IEEE 802.18 TAG - Mike Lynch
  - IEEE 802.24 TAG - Tim Godfrey
  - 802 EC/IETF Standing Committee - Pat Thaler
  - 802 JTC1 Standing Committee - Andrew Myles
  - 802 EC/ITU Standing Committee - Glenn Parsons
  - Wireless Chairs Standing Committee - Bob Heile

Thanks for your help.

James Gilb

This email is sent from the 802 Executive Committee email reflector.  This list is maintained by Listserv.

This email is sent from the 802 Executive Committee email reflector.  This list is maintained by Listserv.

Attachment: IETF Standing Committee.pptx
Description: IETF Standing Committee.pptx