IEEE 802 LMSC Rules Revision Letter Ballot

From: Paul Nikolich, Chair IEEE 802 To: Sponsor Executive Committee

Date: March 16, 2002

Scope: To permit voting by electronic means at the working group level.

Purpose: To facilitate the WG consensus process.

Duration: Ballot opens March 18, 2002 and closes June 8, 2002 12 midnight EDT (remember if you do not vote or abstain it is equivalent to a DISAPPROVE vote)

Proposed Text^{1,2}:

5.1.4.1 Chair's Function

The Chair of the Working Group decides procedural issues. The Working Group members and the Chair decide technical issues by vote. The Working Group Chair decides what is procedural and what is technical.

5.1.4.2 Voting

There are two types of <u>technical</u> votes in the Working Group. These are votes <u>on motions</u> at <u>meetings</u> and votes by letter ballot.

5.1.4.2.1 Voting on technical motions at Meeting

A-vote is carried by a 75% approval of those members voting "Approve" and "Do Not Approve". No quorum is required at meetings held in conjunction with the Plenary session since the Plenary session time and place is established well in advance. A quorum is required at other Working Group meetings or on votes by electronic means. The Working Group Chair may vote at meetings. A quorum is at least one-half of the Working Group members.

5.1.4.2.2 Voting by Letter Ballots

The decision to submit a draft standard or a revised standard to the Sponsor Ballot Group must be ratified by a letter ballot. Other matters may also be decided by a letter ballot at the discretion of the Working Group Chair. The Working Group Chair may vote in letter ballots.

The letter ballot response time must be at least forty days from the time of "sending" postmark to the postmark of the returned ballot. <u>The letter ballot may be conducted by electronic means, in this case the response time is reduced to 35 days as calculated from the sending and the response timestamps.</u>"

¹ taken verbatim from the text that was one vote away (thank you Bill Lidinsky...) from approval on the evening of Thursday March 11, 1999—THREE YEARS AGO!!!

² The SEC members at that time were Jim Carlo, Paul Nikolich, Buzz Rigsbee, Howard Frazier, Bob Grow, Bill Lidinsky, Dave Carlson, Geoff Thompson, Bob Love, Jim Mollenaur, Chip Benson, D. Vaman, Ken Alonge, Vic Hayes, Pat Thaler and Robert Russell—a total of 16 individuals, of which 4 remain (highlighted).