IEEE 802.17 (plenary) meeting minutes Portland

July 12-15,2004

Notes

- The official 802.17 WG website is at http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/17
- The agenda for the meeting is posted on the web at http://www.ieee802.org/17/documents/presentations/jul2004/jul_agenda_04.pdf
- All the presentation materials for the meeting are located at the following URL http://www.ieee802.org/17/documents/presentations/may2003/index.htm
- The minutes do not have details of the motions. However, the motion number and the
 result of the voting on the motion is captured in the minutes. For details about the motion,
 please refer to
 http://www.ieee802.org/17/documents/presentations/jul2004/jul2004Motionsv0.pdf
- The format for this plenary was slightly modified from the previous to give more time to the CRG to resolve comments. Please see the agenda for more details.
- Robert's rules apply
- Chicago voting rules
- Some acronyms used
 - o CRG
 - o WG

Meeting minutes 07/12/2004

1:25 PM – Introduction & Welcome (Mike Takefman)

- Introductions and WG presentation
- Username and password for the WG put up
- Username and password for the EFM member area put up
- All the member WG areas are cross linked
- Process
- 52 members
- Companies can claim compliance
- Issues
 - o Some 802 stuff
 - o CFI
 - o Resolve and vote on .17a
 - o Study group approval
- October meeting will be in Ottawa, joint with do1
- Eligible members
 - o Patrice Plante

- Michael Allen present and becomes a voting member
- o Judit Carreras
- o Yan Robichaud

1:36 PM - Agenda

1:44 PM – Motion 2004-07-12-1, M: Peter Jones, S: John Lemon, approval of agenda, by consent

1:46 PM – Story of 802.17 (John Lemon)

2:03 PM – LMSC change of rules (policies and procedures)

- Intended to be purely reformatting of existing rules and conform with SA model sponsor
- Entire process to take roughly 1 year

2:08 PM – Liaison between IETF and IEEE

- Request from IETF for a formal process
- The current IEEE stand: Chair's decision

2:10 PM – Alignment and WG projects and 802 architectures (Mike Takefman)

- One meeting per plenary meeting
- Chaired by 802.1 chair
- 2-5 PM Sunday prior to Plenary
- Non binding

2:45 PM – RevCom Approval of 802.17 (Mike Takefman)

- David James was the negative vote
 - o Editorial
 - After resolving his comments, DVJ has agreed to change his vote to "YES"

2:50 PM – 802.17a sponsor ballot report (Tom Alexander)

2:55 PM - 802.17b CFI

- CFI for 802.17b
- 8PM at 7/12/2004

3:11 PM – Press release

3:20 PM – 802.17M (maintenance)

3:30 PM – Recess

Meeting minutes 07/13/2004

10:08 AM – Meeting agenda

10:10 AM – Motion 2004-07-13-2, M: Tom Alexander, S: John Lemon, approval of agenda, by consent

10:15 AM – Press release draft

10:20 AM – Motion 2004-07-13-3, M: John Lemon, S: Necdet Uzun, move to approve the 802.17 press release (PR_802.17V2.doc) and to forward it to the 802 EC for approval, approved by consent

10:23 AM – Report on the 802.17b CFI (Marc Holness)

10:30 AM – Motion 2004-07-13-4, M: Marc Holness, S: Harry Peng, Move to request the 802 EC to create the Spatially-Aware Bridging SG within 802.17, Y:16, N:0, A:0, passes

10:40 AM – Motion 2004-07-13-5, M: Marc Holness, S: Harry Peng, Move to authorize the P802.17 working to hold an interim ..., approved by consent

10:50 AM – Motion 2004-07-13-6, M: Raj Sharma, S: Peter Jones, Move to nominate Mike Takefman as the chair of the SAB, approved by consent

10:52 AM – Press release for spatial aware bridging study group

10:57 AM – Motion 2004-07-13-7, M: Steve Wood, S: Michael Allen, Move to approve the 802.17 press release (PR_802.17b_V1.doc) and to forward it to the 802 EC for approval, approved by consent

11:01 AM – Future of WG (Raj Sharma)

11:11 AM – Motion 2004-07-13-8, M: Marc Holness, S: Leon Bruckman, Move to request the 802 Executive Committee to forward P802.17a/D2.1 to RevCom, approved by consent

11:15 AM – Motion 2004-07-13-9, M: Mike Takefman, S: Raj Sharma, Move to request the 802 Executive Committee to forward P802.17a/D2.1 to RevCom, approved by consent

11:29 AM – Motion 2004-07-13-10, M: Tom Alexander, S: Paritosh Kulkarni, Motion to adjourn, approved by consent