## Unapproved minutes Next Gen 100G Optics SMF Ad Hoc Teleconference 14 Feb 2012

## Minutes taken by Pete Anslow, Ciena

The meeting started at 8:05 am Pacific chaired by Pete Anslow, the attendee list was taken from the Webex attendee list.

Documentation for the call can be found at the Ad Hoc web page: <a href="http://www.ieee802.org/3/100GNGOPTX/public/smfadhoc/index.html">http://www.ieee802.org/3/100GNGOPTX/public/smfadhoc/index.html</a>

Pete reminded everyone of the IEEE patent policy (<u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html</u>).

<u>Presentation #1</u> Title: SMF Ad Hoc way forward By: Pete Anslow, Ciena See: anslow\_01\_0212\_smf.pdf

In discussion there was general consensus that the only reach constraint below about 2 km for the solutions being considered was the cost of the parallel fiber. (Note that this does not define a loss budget except that it would include about 1 dB for fiber). Chris Cole suggested that the economic reach crossover point for parallel SM fiber is of the order of 500m rather than 1km. He was encouraged to generate a contribution to this effect.

<u>Presentation #2</u> Title: Relative Cost Analysis – SMF Optics By: Dan Dove, Applied Micro See: dove\_01\_0212\_smf.pdf

During the presentation, Dan mentioned some minor changes to slide 7. In discussion Chris Cole indicated that Dan was imposing a stricter set of guidelines for cost analysis than David Law (the 802.3 WG Chair).Dan agreed to consult with David to clarify whether some of the 802.3ba cost based presentations mentioned by Chris are within the guidelines or not.

The meeting closed at 9:00 am Pacific

Attendee list (taken from Webex attendee list with the addition of Jonathan King)

John Abbott, Corning Jon Anderson, Opnext Pete Anslow, Ciena Vipul Bhatt, Lightwire Brad Booth, Dell Dave Brown, Gennum Alessandro Cavaciuti, Cisco Chris Cole, Finisar CK Cuikai, Huawei **Piers Dawe, IPtronics** Dan Dove, Applied Micro Mike Dudek, Qlogic Ali Ghiasi, Broadcom Paul Goldgeier, Color-chip Eric Hall, Aurrion Francis Ho, Inphi Jim Innis, Freescale Jonathan King, Finisar Taichi Kogure, Opnext Paul Kolesar, Commscope Gerard Kuyt, Draka Greg LeCheminant, Agilent Sharon Lutz, US Conec Phil McClay, TE Andy Moorwood, Infinera Gary Nicholl, Cisco Mark Nowell, Cisco David Ofelt, Juniper Tom Palkert, Visi Peter Pepeljugoski, IBM Randy Perrie, Onechipphotonics john Petrilla, Avago Technologies **Rick Pimpinella, Panduit** Liang Qiu, Nexans Mike Ressl, Hitachi Cable Sam Sambasivan, ATT labs Kapil Shrikhande, Dell David Skirmont, Brocade Ted Sprague, Infinera

Peter Stassar, Huawei Steve Swanson, Corning I-Hsing Tan, Avago Technologies Katsuhisa Tawa, SEI Matt Traverso, Cisco Steve Trowbridge, Alcatel-Lucent Alexander Umnov, Huawei Paul Vanderlaan, Nexans