IEEE 802.3 Beyond 10km Optical PHYs Study Group

Terminology Ad Hoc Teleconference, 13-Feb 2018

Unapproved Meeting Minutes, Prepared by John D'Ambrosia

Chaired by John D'Ambrosia

Meeting called to order at 10:04am

Presentation – Agenda Presenter: John D'Ambrosia, Futurewei, Subsidiary of Huawei URL: http://www.ieee802.org/3/B10K/public/adhoc/18\_0213/agenda\_b10k\_01\_180213.pdf

Chair showed ad hoc meeting agenda. Agenda was approved by voice vote without opposition.

PRE-PAR Patent Policy slide was shown https://development.standards.ieee.org/myproject/Public/mytools/mob/preparslides.pdf

IEEE 802 Participation slide was shown - <u>https://mentor.ieee.org/802-ec/dcn/16/ec-16-0180-05-00EC-ieee-802-participation-slide.pdf</u>

Presentation – Terminology Strawman Presenter: John D'Ambrosia, Futurewei, Subsidiary of Huawei URL: <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/B10K/public/adhoc/18\_0213/dambrosia\_b10k\_01\_180213.pdf</u>

## **General Discussion**

- Presentation was marked up to reflect Ad hoc discussion, and will be uploaded to the ad hoc meeting webpage.
- General agreement on terminology on slides 6 & 7, but further discussion on Slide 8. Chair asked individuals to work offline with him to come back for the next ad hoc meeting with updated proposed terminology for Slide 8.
- D'Ambrosia proposed noting that all links in this study group would be point-to-point links and would not include point-to-multipoint.
- Mr. Law noted that the proposed changes to "link" may cause issues, as there is substantial terminology built around its use in 802.3, and this may cause problems when reflecting the output of the SG to the broader 802.3

Meeting adjourned 11:00am.

## **Call Participants**

John D'Ambrosia	Futurewei, Subsidiary of Huawei	Futurewei, Subsidiary of Huawei
Matt Schmitt	CableLabs	CableLabs
Steve Trowbridge	Nokia	Nokia
Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Peter Stassar	Huawei Technologies	Huawei Technologies
Gary Nicholl	Cisco	Cisco
Mark Nowell	Cisco	Cisco
Marek Hajduczenia	Charter	Charter
Yoshiaki Sone	NTT	NTT
David Law	HPE	HPE
Pete Anslow	Ciena	Ciena
KenJackson	Sumitomo Electric	Sumitomo Electric
David Chen	AOI	AOI
Curtis Knittle	CableLabs	CableLabs
Fernando Villarruel	Cisco	Cisco
Derek Cassidy	ICRG/IET	ICRG/IET
John Yurtin	Delphi	Delphi