Meeting Minutes

Group: IEEE Greater than 50G bidirectional optical access PHYs study group meeting

Location: Virtual Zoom Meeting (interim)

Date: September 14th 2022

Opening

7:30 AM (EDT) The meeting was called to order by David Law, the 802.3 working group chair. Yuanqiu Luo volunteered to be the Recording Secretary.

Motion 1

- Confirm Frank Effenberger as the IEEE 802.3 Greater than 50 Gb/s Bidirectional Optical Access PHYs Study Group Chair.
- M: Mark laubach S: Xinyuan Wang
- Yes: No: Abs:
- Motion result: Passed by unanimous consent

Frank Effenberger left the zoom meeting during Motion 1 and returned to the meeting after it. Members continued reviewing the agenda.

Motion 2

- Move to approve the agenda, located at:
- https://www.ieee802.org/3/GT50GBIDI/public/2209/0922 GT50GBIDIAgenda.pdf
- M: Frank Effenberger
- Motion result: Approved by voice without opposition

The study group chair gave his opening introduction on decorum, goals, big ticket items, ground rules, process, attendance tool, etc.

7:48 AM(EDT) The study group chair made a call for patents; no response was made.

The study group chair reviewed the IEEE Participation guidelines and the IEEE SA Copyright policy.

Study Group Contributions

Presentation: Requirements for higher speed bidi PTP optical access, Hirotaka Nakamura, NTT, Shan Wey, Verizon, Fabrice Bourgart, Orange

https://www.ieee802.org/3/GT50GBIDI/public/2209/Joint 0914 BiDiPtP.pdf

Hirotaka Nakamura presented this contribution. It reviewed recent progress in ITU and FSAN on developing highspeed BiDi PtP standards. It proposed to focus on 100 Gb/s in the near term. Members discussed possible coordination and major technical differences between the two projects. There was a comment to include 200 Gb/s in the work.

Presentation: Draft PAR, Frank Effenberger, Futurewei

https://www.ieee802.org/3/GT50GBIDI/public/2209/Draft%20GT50Gbidi%20PAR Detail Markup.pdf

Frank Effenberger presented the draft PAR. The proposed project/amendment name was *Greater than 50G bidirectional optical access PHYs*. Initial Sponsor Ballot time was proposed to be in July 2025, expected time to RevCom was in May 2026. Members worked together to address item 7.1 and discuss coordination with ITU-T G.9806 Amd.3. David Law updated the myproject PAR input per meeting discussion. The tentative project number was 802.3dk.

Presentation: Draft CSD, Frank Effenberger, Futurewei

https://www.ieee802.org/3/GT50GBIDI/public/2209/Draft%20GT50Gbidi%20CSD.pdf

This was the draft CSD for members to review. There was a comment to improve the economic feasibility description. A bullet item to justify the speed increase was added.

Presentation: Draft Objectives, Frank Effenberger, Futurewei

https://www.ieee802.org/3/GT50GBIDI/public/2209/Draft%20GT50Gbidi%200BJ.pdf

This was the Objectives draft. It was based on the 802.3cp objectives with updates on rates and wavelengths in each direction.

Motion 3

- Move that the SG approve PAR as shown in https://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/GT50GBIDI/public/2209/P802.3dk (3).pdf and forward to 802.3 for their approval
- https://www.ieee802.org/3/GT50GBIDI/public/2209/P802.3dk%20(3).pdf
- Technical (>75%)
- M: Frank Effenberger
 S: Yuanqiu Luo
- Motion result: Approved by voice without opposition

Future interim meeting time schedule was discussed. October 5th, 7:30 EDT – 9:30 EDT was selected.

Motion 4

- Move to adjourn the meeting.
- Procedural (>50%)
- M: Ken Jackson S: Mark Laubach
- Motion Result: Approved by voice without opposition

9:24AM(EDT) Meeting adjourned

Attendees (22)

<u>Name</u>	Affiliation	09/14/2022
Mark Laubach	Tibit Communications	<u>X</u>
Olindo Savi	Hubbell	<u>X</u>
David Law	HPE	<u>X</u>
Ray Nering	Cisco	<u>X</u>
Earl Parsons	CommScope	<u>X</u>
Yuanqiu Luo	Futurewei	<u>X</u>
Sylvanus Lee	Leviton	<u>X</u>
John Johnson	Broadcom	<u>X</u>

Vince Ferretti	Corning USA	<u>X</u>
Kenneth Jackson	Sumitomo	<u>X</u>
Mark Bordogna	Intel	<u>X</u>
Ulf Parkholm	Ericsson	<u>X</u>
Leon Bruckman	Huawei	<u>X</u>
Sami Akin	Volkswagen AG	<u>X</u>
Piers Dawe	Nvidia	<u>X</u>
Peter Stassar	Huawei	<u>X</u>
Xinyuan Wang	Huawei	<u>X</u>
Hirotaka Nakamura	NTT	<u>X</u>
Hideki Isono	Fujitsu Optical Components	<u>X</u>
TOMOO TAKAHARA	Fujitsu	<u>X</u>
Hiroaki Tomofuji	Fujitsu	<u>X</u>
Frank Effenberger	Futurewei	<u>X</u>