Minutes of Plenary Meeting of 802.3an Task Force July 19-21, 2005, San Francisco

Tuesday, July 19, 2005

The meeting was called to order at approximately 9am by the Chair, Brad Booth. George Eisler was selected as recording secretary.

The agenda for the meeting was presented by the Chair. Motion to approve the agenda; M: G Zimmerman S: A Flatman Approved by voice

Introductions of attendees followed.

Motion to approve the minutes of the May/Austin meeting, minutes_1_0505: M: P Thaler S: A Flatman Approved by voice

The Chair then reviewed the Ground Rules for the Task Force. At 9:10am, the Chair read the IEEE-SA Bylaws on Patents in Standards as follows:

6. Patents

IEEE standards may include the known use of essential patents and patent applications provided the IEEE receives assurance from the patent holder or applicant with respect to patents whose infringement is, or in the case of patent applications, potential future infringement the applicant asserts will be, unavoidable in a compliant implementation of either mandatory or optional portions of the standard [essential patents]. This assurance shall be provided without coercion and prior to approval of the standard (or reaffirmation when a patent or patent application becomes known after initial approval of the standard). This assurance shall be a letter that is in the form of either:

a) A general disclaimer to the effect that the patentee will not enforce any of its present or future patent(s) whose use would be required to implement either mandatory or optional portions of the proposed IEEE standard against any person or entity complying with the standard; or

b) A statement that a license for such implementation will be made available without compensation or under reasonable rates, with reasonable terms and conditions that are demonstrably free of any unfair discrimination.

This assurance shall apply, at a minimum, from the date of the standard's approval to the date of the standard's withdrawal and is irrevocable during that period.

The Chair next reviewed topics inappropriate for discussion during IEEE meetings, as follows:

Don't discuss licensing terms or conditions Don't discuss product pricing, territorial restrictions or market share Don't discuss ongoing litigation or threatened litigation Don't be silent if inappropriate topics are discussed Do formally object

The Chair then reviewed the IEEE Standards process.

Val Rybinsky presented Liaison TR-42.7-05-06-117 from the TR.42.7 meeting of June 6-10, Montreal.

The Editors Report was presented by Sanjay Kasturia, including the status of comments.

Comment resolution commenced, led by the Editor and continued after a lunch break. Vareljian-2-0705.pdf was presented in conjunction with a comment. The comment was proposed rejected, supported by voice vote.

Comment resolution continued after a lunch break. Woodruff_2_0705.pdf was presented in conjunction with a comment.

Comment resolution continued until the meeting recessed for the day at 5:20pm.

Wednesday, July 20, 2005

The meeting resumed at 9:00am with further comment resolution. Comment resolution resumed at 1:30pm after a lunch break.

Cobb_1_0705.pdf was presented in conjunction with a comment.

Flatman_1_07_05.pdf and Mei_1_07_05.pdf were presented in conjunction with a comment.

Motion to add a row to 55.10 with Class E Screened for 100meters with a reference to ISO/IEC TR-24750, by Task Force: Y 24 N 0

Motion to: Add a row to table 55_10 that adds unscreened Cat 6, 55m and provide appropriate references. After discussion, consideration of the matter was postponed pending results of an informal ad hoc to be led by Chris DiMinico.

The meeting was recessed at 6:15pm.

Thursday, July 21, 2005

The meeting resumed at 9:00am, with continuing comment resolution. Chris DiMinico presented the results of the informal ad hoc.

Motion to replace Table 55-10 with the table recommended by the ad hoc, DiMinico_1_0705, was approved by voice.

Motion: That the Task Force grant editorial license to the P802.3an editors to respond to unresolved editorial comments on D2.1 as they see fit. M: G Zimmerman S: A Flatman Approved by voice

Motion: That Draft 2.1, plus the resolution of comments to Draft 2.1, be used as the basis for the generation of Draft 2.2.M: H Barass S: M Bennett Approved by voice

Motion: That TF request that the WG Chair circulate IEEE P802.3an Draft 2.2 for 802.3Working Group re-circulation ballot and comment:M: G ZimmermanS: C DiMinicoApproved by voice

Motion: That the TF agrees to consider a measurement based SNR computation as a means to evaluate the suitability of the installed cabling to support 10GBASE-T and communicate this agreement to the respective cabling standards bodies. M: C DiMinico S: G Zimmerman Technical Y 25 N 9 A 2 Fails

Motion: That the TF agrees to consider a computation on measurements as a means to evaluate the suitability of the installed cabling to support 10GBASE-T. M: S Kasturia S: C DiMinico Technical Y 30 N 1 A 8 Passes

Motion: That the TF approve the iso_1_0705 liaison letter. M: G Eisler S: J Tellado Approved by voice

Motion: That the TF approve the tia_1_0705 liaison letter. M: A Flatman S: G Zimmerman Approved by voice

Motion: That the TF request that 802.3 approve and forward the two liaison letters, with appropriate edits by the Chair (or his appointed agent), to TIA TR-42 and ISO/IEC 11801 JTC 1/SC 25/WG 3.

- TIA TR42: tia_1_0705
- ISO/IEC: iso_1_0705

M: G Zimmerman S: G Eisler Approved by voice

Motion to adjourn: M: S Kasturia S: D Dove Approved by voice

Meeting was adjourned at approximately 11:30am.

Attendees:

Attendees: Last name	First Name
Barazanderur	Majid
Barrass	Hugh
Bennett	Mike
Berry	Joe
Booth	Brad
Brown	Kevin
Chopra	Rahul
Cobb	Terry
Cohen	Larry
DiMinico	Chris
Dolev	Noam
Eisler	George
Flatman	Alan
Golden	Glenn
Grow	Bob
Gupta	Sandeep
Hess	John
Higbie	Carrie
Jones	William
Jover	Juan
Kasturia	Sanjay
Kish	Paul
Koeman	Henriecus
Kothary	Piyush
Kwentus	Alan
Law	David
Lynskey	Eric
Marris	Arthur
McClellan	Brett
McConnell	Mike
Mei	Richard
Mezer	Amir
Molina	Albert
Mueller	Wayne
Muller	Shimon
Namazi	Cyrus
Narasimha	MJ

Last name	First Name
Powell	Scott
Qian	Haoli
Rao	Sailesh
Reviriego	Pedro
Rybinski	Valerie
Savi	Olindo
Sigmon	Ned
Sugawara	Mitsutoshi
Taich	Dimitry
Tellado	Jose
Thaler	Pat
Vaden	Sterling
Van Bavel	Nick
Vareljian	Albert
Woodruff	Bill
Yagil	Ariel
Zimmerman	George