IEEE P802.3aq 10GBASE-LRM Task Force minutes for 23 May 2006

Chairman: David Cunningham Recording secretary: Piers Dawe

Opening and review

The meeting opened at 9:02 am

Opening remarks per http://ieee802.org/3/aq/public/may06/802.3aqopening0605.pdf
David read the "inappropriate topics" and IEEE SA SB bylaws on patents in standards slides.

Timeline review. Aiming for one final recirculation then ask for submission to higher committees Project has taken 9 months longer than the original plan.

Voting statistics as shown in URL above: 83% returned, 91% approval.

The best way to flip a disapprove vote is to vote "approve" on a recirculation. A less preferable way is by email.

Proposed agenda changed so that approval of minutes be addressed at the end of the meeting

If no new valid comments are received, this May meeting would be the last meeting. A room is reserved in San Diego just in case.

Comment resolution

There are just six comments to be considered.

Comment resolution began at 9:35 am and completed at 10:20 am. See http://ieee802.org/3/aq/public/comments/d3.2/P802.3aqD3.2com31May06.pdf for the record.

There will be a fifteen-day recirculation. The changes to be recirculated are all in Clause 51, and there are no comments to be within the scope of this recirculation.

Other

Steve Swanson offered to make samples of a type of multimode fiber with low bandwidth at 4 um launch offset BW this fibre type available to those who would wish to experiment with it. Steve's comments to the draft from former rounds of balloting are on file.

Approval of the minutes

Motion to approve minutes from November 2005, January and March 2006. November 2005 page 1: "entertain a motion to accept it in fulfillment of" ends abruptly. It should be "in fulfillment of November 04 Task Force motion" With this change, all three minutes were approved with no objection.

Adjourned

Motion to adjourn: moved Paul Kolesar, seconded Steve Swanson, approved without objection.

Meeting adjourned at 10:40 am.

Attendance

In the room:

David Cunningham Avago Technologies Paul Kolesar Systimax Solutions

Norm Swenson ClariPhy
Tom Lindsay ClariPhy
Robert Lingle OFS
Frank Chang Vitesse

Piers Dawe Avago Technologies

Wenbin Jiang JDSU
Steve Swanson Corning
Ali Ghiasi Broadcom
Stephen Trowbridge Lucent

Bor-Long Twu Beam Express

Sergey Ten Corning Ryan Latchman Gennum Bob Grow Intel

Tremont Miao Analog Devices

Petar Pepeljugoski IBM Matt Traverso Opnext

On the phone:

Marco Mazzini Cisco
Nick Weiner PhyWorks
Mike Dudek Picolight
George Olundsen OFS
Scott Schube Intel
Christine Krause Intel