IEEE P802.3cd Ad Hoc meeting – February 28, 2018

Prepared by Mark Nowell

Proposed Agenda:

- Approve agenda
- Approve 21 February 2018 ad hoc minutes
- Patent reminder
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- Participant reminder
- P802.3cd TF
 - TF update Mark Nowell (10 mins)
 - TDECQ update, Jonathan King (20 mins)
 - Refining TDECQ, Piers Dawe (20 mins)

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/index.html

Meeting began at ~8:05 a.m. Pacific by Mark Nowell.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/agenda 022818 3cd adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. He reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Showed the links to the IEEE P802.3cd Task Force ad hoc page and the email reflector.

Presented the proposed agenda and asked if there was objection as written. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

Asked if there were comments regarding the posted minutes of the last ad hoc meeting. No one responded. The minutes were approved by the ad oc.

Reminded participants of the IEEE patent policy. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE patent policy. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE Participation Requirements and showed the slide with the Participation requirements. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE Participation Requirements. No one responded.

Agenda Items

P802.3cd Task Force update, Mark Nowell

- Task Force plans to meet Monday and Tuesday during the Plenary meeting (week of 4 March, 2018). There will be an interim meeting immediately before the opening plenary (8-10 a.m. local time).
- There will be tracks during comment resolution for the remainder of Monday after noon and Tuesday
- Presentations will likely be posted on Thursday
- Editorial team is working to release the proposed responses to the received comments and the target to post them is late Thursday or Friday
- The sponsor ballot recirculation is complete. 106 comments were received (2 were late). The ballot passed all criteria on approval, response rate and abstentions
- Matt Brown reviewed the comment distribution. Two hot topics are ERL and TDECQ and there are a number of hard comments associated with both topics

Presentation #1:

"TDECQ update", Jonathan King, Finisar

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/king 022818 3cd adhoc.pdf

- Reviewed TDECQ history and methodology
- Provided commentary against previously presented slides on proposing TDECQ from 2/14/2018 ad hoc

Presentation #2:

"Refining TDECQ", Piers Dawe, Mellanox

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/dawe 022818 3cd adhoc.pdf

- Presentation looks at whether 0, 1 and 2 precursors are all desirable in a reference equalizer used for TDECQ measurements
- Simulations presented arguing that reference receiver could be simplified for SMF

*** A free drink to the first person to let the Task Force Chair know they've read this ***

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~9:00 a.m. Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Dayl Kalasar	
Paul Kolesar	commscope
gianluca radaelli	st
Alex Haser (Molex)	molex
Upen Kareti	cisco
Mark Kimber (Semtech)	semtech
Zvi Shmilovici Leib	marvell
Greg LeCheminant	keysight
ERDEM MATOGLU	amphenol-tcs
Christopher DiMinico	ieee.org
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum
TAO HU	cavium
Mark Nowell	cisco
Scott Sommers	molex
salvatore rotolo	st
Andrew Kim (Spectra7)	spectra7
Yasuo Hidaka (Independent)	independent
Piers	mellanox
Karen Liu	kaiamcorp
Chien-Ping Kao	intel
Adee Ran	intel
Adam Healey	broadcom
Mingshan Li	gmail
Rob Guzzon	juniper
Anand Ramaswamy	juniper
John Johnson	broadcom
Jeff Slavick	broadcom
jonathan	finisar
Peter Anslow	ciena
martin white	cavium
Chad	semtech
Ed Frlan (Semtech)	semtech
Thang Pham	finisar

Matt Brown	macom
Nathan Tracy (TE)	te
bill Kirkland	semtech
Vittal Balasubramanian	innovium
Mike Dudek	cavium
Gary Nicholl	cisco
David Malicoat	independent
Chien-Ping Kao	intel
Phil Sun	credosemi
Rita Horner	synopsys
Peter Van Dyck	aquantia
Chien-Ping Kao	intel
Ed Ulrichs	sourcephotonics
Akinori hayakawa	jp.fujitsu
Hai-Feng Liu	intel
Chien-Ping Kao	intel
Anand A (MxI)	maxlinear
Kumaran Krishnasamy	broadcom
Stephen Didde	keysight
Akinori Hayakawa	jp.fujitsu
Howard Heck	intel
Vittal Balasubramanian	innovium
jeff hutchins	Ranovus
Thang Pham	finisar
Matt Brown	macom
Kumaran Krishnasamy	broadcom
Frank Chang	inphi
Vittal	innovium
Will Bliss	broadcom
Tom Palkert	molex/macom