IEEE P802.3cd Ad Hoc meeting -

June 7, 2017

Prepared by Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of the May 10 minutes
- IEEE patent policy reminder:
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder
- P802.3cd TF Ad Hoc -
 - Task Force Update, Mark Nowell
 - "D-Optimal DOE of all COM parameters", Richard Mellitz
 - "Operational Reflection Impact (ORI) using pulse TDR", Richard Mellitz
 - "Summary of COM problems between channel and Rx Interference Tolerance Test", Yasuo Hidaka

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/index.html

Meeting began at ~8:05 a.m. Pacific by Kent Lusted.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/agenda_060717_3cd_adhoc.pdf

Reviewed the Attendance information related to the ad hoc. He reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. He reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Showed the links to the IEEE P802.3cd Task Force ad hoc page and the email reflector.

Presented the proposed agenda and asked if there was objection as written. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

Asked if there were comments regarding the posted minutes of the last ad hoc meeting. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE patent policy. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE patent policy. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE Participation Requirements and showed the slide with the Participation requirements. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE Participation Requirements. No one responded.

P802.3cd Agenda Items

Task Force Update, Mark Nowell:

- Draft 2.0 ballot is open. Closes June 25, 2017 (this is a Sunday).
- Next Task Force meeting is the week of July 10, 2017. Task Force will meet on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday of that week.
- Presentation requests due 30 June, 2017. Presentations due 4 July, 2017

Presentation #1:

"D-Optimal DOE of all COM parameters", Richard Mellitz (20 min) See: <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/mellitz_060717_3cd_01_adhoc.pdf</u>

- The fit results on slide 6 are from channel #1. The results for channel #2 are quite similar.
- Reviewed the results of the sensitivity analysis.

Presentation #2:

"Operational Reflection Impact (ORI) using pulse TDR", Richard Mellitz (20 min) See: <u>http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/mellitz_060717_3cd_02_adhoc.pdf</u>

• The package length for the results on slide 3 is 30 mm.

Presentation #3:

"Summary of COM problems between channel and Rx Interference Tolerance Test", Yasuo Hidaka (30 min)

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/hidaka_060717_3cd_adhoc-v2.pdf

- Hidaka-san indicated an updated version of the presentation was available (v2). Kent asked if there was objection to seeing the updated presentation. No one responded.
- Reviewed presentation
- Discussed amount of interoperability margin on slide 3
- Discussed the discrepancy between Clause 136 and Clause 136A reported on slide 12

*** A free drink to the first person to let the Task Force Chair know they've read this ***

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~9:55 a.m. Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

RICHARD MELLITZ	samtec
Takeshi Nish	yeu
Jason Ellison	siemon
John Ewen	globalfoundries
Dave Lewis	lumentum
Gary Nicholl	cisco
Jane Lim	cisco
Fernando De Bernardinis	marvell
Peter Anslow	ciena
Alex Levin	microsoft
Howard Heck	intel
Yong Kim	broadcom
Steve Trowbridge	nokia
Mike Dudek	cavium
Rick Rabinovich	ixiacom
vishal Nimbark	silabtech
David Malicoat	Senko
Yasuo Hidaka	us.fujitsu
martin white	cavium
Derek Cassidy	bt
Vittal Balasubramanian	innovium
Andre Szczepanek	inphi
Galen Fromm	cray
Stephen Didde	keysight
Upen Kareti	cisco
Matt Brown	macom
Isabel de Sousa	ca.ibm
James Fife	etopus
kent lusted	intel
Yang Zhiwei	zte
Timothy Pak	luxshare-ict
Jeffery Maki	juniper
Greg LeCheminant	keysight
noah beltran	yeu
Ken Jackson	sei-device
JIM NADOLNY	samtec

Phil Sun	credosemi
Adee Ran	intel
gary nicholl	cisco
Tom Palkert	visi
Piers Dawe	mellanox
bill kirkland	semtech
Andy Zambell	amphenol
Tao Hu	qlogic
Ali Ghiasi	huawei
Marco Mazzini	cisco
Raymond Nering	cisco
Nathan Tracy	te
Jeff Slavick	broadcom
Adam Healey	broadcom
Mark Nowell	cisco
Mark Gustlin	xilinx
Rajmohan Hegde	broadcom