IEEE P802.3cd Ad Hoc meeting – June 22, 2016

Prepared by Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- IEEE patent policy reminder:
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- P802.3cd Task Force Ad Hoc
 - o Task Force Update, Mark Nowell
 - o "Call For Data of Real Device Return Loss", Yasuo Hidaka
 - o "Proposal For Die Level PMD Specification", Rich Mellitz
 - o "Continued Thoughts on PCS/FEC Baseline", Gary Nicholl

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/index.html

Meeting began at 8:04 a.m. Pacific by Kent Lusted.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/agenda_062216_3cd_01a_adhoc.pdf

Kent Lusted reviewed the Attendance information related to the ad hoc. He reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. He reminded participants to mute their lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Kent Lusted showed the links to the IEEE P802.3cd Task Force ad hoc page and the email reflector.

Kent Lusted presented the proposed agenda and asked if there was objection as written. Yasuo Hidaka requested to present after Rich Mellitz. No one objected. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

Kent reminded participants of the IEEE patent policy. Kent asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE patent policy. No one responded.

P802.3cd Agenda Items

Task Force Update, Mark Nowell:

- Next Task Force meeting is the July 2016 Plenary in San Diego. Meeting registration is open.
- Next P802.3cd ad hoc meeting is July 6, 2016.
- Presentation requests due July 15, 2016. Presentations due July 19, 2016.
- Chair encouraged participants to continue to build consensus on baseline proposals.

Presentation #1:

"Proposal For Die Level PMD Specification", Rich Mellitz

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/Mellitz_062216_3cd_01_adhoc.pdf

- Author noted that the intent is to provide a specification for vendors that offer die-level IP without a
 package design. Motivation was to explore where some extra margin can be found in the COM
 model.
- There were concerns about the need for a separate PMD specification and if there was sufficient broad market potential to define it in IEEE.
- Discussed the proposed values for COM on slide 16.

Presentation #2:

"Call For Data of Real Device Return Loss", Yasuo Hidaka

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/hidaka_062216_3cd_01_adhoc.pdf

- Task Force Chair (Mark Nowell) noted that this presentation is identifying a technical area in which more information would be beneficial. Chair asked if Yasuo was acting as an individual to collect data and provide appropriate anonymized summary back into the Task Force. Yasuo confirmed that this is correct. Chair reminded Yasuo to not share proprietary information in the Task Force.
- IEEE 802.3 Working Group Chair David Law noted that activities like this are normally done via a neutral third party so as to prevent any conflict of interest.
- TF Chair noted that he rules this as a request from an individual for more information from the Task Force participants and the mechanism to do so is outside the bounds of IEEE.

Presentation #3:

"Continued Thoughts on PCS/FEC Baseline", Gary Nicholl

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/nicholl_062216_3cd_adhoc.pdf

- Discussed symbol muxing vs. bit muxing impact on FEC choice.
- Discussed the assumed location of the FEC in an ASIC vs. PMA device and the impact to FEC lane architecture.

The next ad hoc call will be on July 6, 2016.

The ad hoc meeting ended at 9:23 a.m. Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Adee Ran	intel
Ali Ghiasi	n/a
Andre Szczepanek	inphi
Andy Zambell (Amphenol)	amphenol
Arturo Pachon (TE)	te
Chris Roth (Molex)	molex
Dan Dillow (Amphenol)	fci
Daniel Koehler	morethanip
Dave Estes - Spirent	spirent
David Law	hpe
david malicoat	•
David Piehler	hpe dell
Ed Ulrichs	
	sourcephotonics broadcom
Eric Baden (Broadcom) Fernando De Bernardinis	broaucom
(Mrvl)	marvell
Flavio Marques	furukawa
Gary Nicholl	cisco
Jacky Chang	hpe
James Fife	etopus
Jane Lim	cisco
Jeff Slavick	broadcom
Jing Fang	marvell
John DAmbrosia	futurewei
John Dillard	microsemi
John Ewen	globalfoundries
John Nelson	arista
jonathan king	finisar
Kapil Shrikhande	innovium
kent lusted (intel)	intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	broadcom
Mark Gustlin	xilinx
Mark Nowell	cisco
Matt Brown	apm
Mike Dudek	qlogic
Mike Li	altera
Nathan Tracy	te
David Ofelt	juniper

	T
Paul Kolesar	commscope
Peter Anslow	ciena
Peter Stassar	huawei
Phil Sun	credosemi
Piers	mellanox
Qing Xu	belden
Raj Hegde	broadcom
Rich Mellitz (Intel)	intel
Rick Rabinovich	ixiacom
Rita Horner	synopsys
Rob Stone	broadcom
Robert	de
salvatore rotolo	st
Shijun Yang	lumentum
T.SAKAI	socionext
Tao	qlogic
Ted Sprague	infinera
Tim Webster	cisco
Tom Issenhuth	microsoft
Tom McDermott	fujitsu
Tom Palkert	molex
Tongtong Wang	huawei
Upen Kareti	cisco
Wheling Cheng	ericsson
will bliss	broadcom
Xinyuan Wang	huawei
Yaniv Sabag	intel
Yasuo Hidaka	fujitsu
yizhaoping	h3c
Zvi Rechtman	mellanox