IEEE P802.3cd Ad Hoc meeting – December 7, 2016

Prepared by Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of the November 23 minutes
- IEEE patent policy reminder:
 - http://www.ieee802.org/3/patent.html
- P802.3cd TF Ad Hoc
 - Task Force Update, Kent Lusted (10 min)
 - "TBDs in Clause 139", Peter Stassar (20 mins)
 - "COM Parameters For Adapting To Channel Driving Point Impedance", Rich Mellitz (20 mins)

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/index.html

Meeting began at ~8:05 a.m. Pacific by Kent Lusted.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/agenda_120716_3cd_adhoc.pdf

Reviewed the Attendance information related to the ad hoc. He reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. He reminded participants to mute their lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Showed the links to the IEEE P802.3cd Task Force ad hoc page and the email reflector.

Presented the proposed agenda and asked if there was objection as written. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

Asked if there were comments regarding the posted minutes for the Nov 23 ad hoc meeting. No one responded.

Reminded participants of the IEEE patent policy. He asked if anyone was unfamiliar with the IEEE patent policy. No one responded.

P802.3cd Agenda Items

Task Force Update, Kent Lusted:

- D1.1 review started Dec 2. Closes Dec 16 details sent over the email reflector
- Interim meeting announced over reflector. Meeting on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday of the week of Jan 8, 2017.
- The start time on Wednesday 11th, will be no later than 1pm but will start immediately after the P802.3bs TF concludes its work. Note this is a change from what was communicated at the recent ad hoc meeting. We cannot confirm when the meeting will close on Friday and we have the room for the full day.
- Requests for presentation time shall be made to mnowell@cisco.com and must be made by EOD Monday, Jan 2nd, 2017.
- The presenter shall e-mail a PDF, soft-copy by Tuesday Jan 3rd, 2017

Presentation #1:

"TBDs in Clause 139", Peter Stassar

See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/stassar_120716_3cd_adhoc.pdf

- Peter asked for feedback on the material during his presentation to measure the consensus on the proposed changes to Clause 139.
- The colored values are the proposed values and would be in the draft as "black" values not "magenta" values. The colored values would replace TBDs in the draft.
- The proposed values are consistent with 200G.

Presentation #2:

"COM Parameters For Adapting To Channel Driving Point Impedance", Rich Mellitz See: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/adhoc/archive/mellitz_120716_3cd_adhoc-v3.pdf

- Asked for feedback on the index package choices on slide 6. Kent asked Rich to send the request to feedback over the email reflector to solicit broad feedback.
- There was a request to clarify the terminology on slide 7 to improve clarity.
- Rich noted that there are typo errors on slide 9 in the 'v2' presentation. Kent asked Rich to provide an updated presentation with the corrected algorithm.
- Kent asked Rich to start the discussion over the reflector, to build consensus with the relevant stakeholders and provide a consensus presentation for consideration at the interim meeting.

*** A free drink to the first person to let the Task Force Chair know they've read this ***

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~9:00 a.m. Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

aanandakumar	maxlinear
Adam Healey	broadcom
Ali Ghiasi	Huawei
Andy Zambell	Amphenol
Arturo Pachon	te
Bill Kirkland	semtech
D. Lapierre	exfo
Dan Dillow	fci
	Kazan
david malicoat	Networks
Fernando De Bernardinis	marvell
Flavio Marques	furukawa
Gary Nicholl	cisco
Geoffrey Chacon	hpe
Hai-Feng Liu	intel
Howard Heck	intel
James Fife	etopus
Jane Lim	cisco
Jing Fang	marvell
John Nelson	arista
Kan Tan	tektronix
kent lusted	intel
Kumaran Krishnasamy	broadcom
Marcel Medina	spirent
Marco Mazzini	cisco
Mark Kimber	semtech
Mark Nowell	cisco
martin white	cavium
Matt Brown	apm
Megha Shanbhag	te
Mike Dudek	cavium
Paul Kolesar	commscope
Pavel Zivny	tektronix
Pete Anslow	ciena
peter stassar	huawei
Phil Sun	credosemi
Piers Dawe	mellanox

Rajmohan Hegde	broadcom
Rich Mellitz	samtec
Rick Rabinovich	ixiacom
Rita Horner	synospys
scott sommers	molex
Steve Trowbridge	nokia
T.SAKAI	socionext
Tao Hu	qlogic
Ted Sprague	infinera
Tim Pak	luxshare-ict
Tom McDermott	us.fujitsu
Vittal Balasubramani	dell
Weiying Cheng	coriant
Yasuo Hidaka	us.fujitsu
Yong Kim	broadcom
Zvi	mellanox