Unconfirmed Meeting Minutes: Meeting of the IEEE P802.3cg 10 Mbps Single-Pair Ethernet Task Force

October 14, 2019 Contingent telephonic Interim

Prepared by Jon Lewis, Dell EMC

The meeting of the IEEE P802.3cg 10 Mbps Single Pair Ethernet Task Force convened at 7:04 AM (Pacific time US), Monday, October 14, 2019 by George Zimmerman, P802.3cg Task Force chair.

Attendance for the meeting is listed in Appendix A

All presentations referenced in these minutes are located on the October 2019 P802.3cg public website.

Administrative Matters

The Chair started the meeting by reviewing the list of attendees and taking a roll call.

George Zimmerman displayed the agenda in agenda 3cg 01 1019.pdf.

The Task Force Chair reviewed the list of registered and confirmed attendees and affiliations and asked if there was any objection to skipping further introduction of attendees, none responded.

Motion #1:Move to approve the agenda as shown in agenda 3cg 01 1019.pdf.M:Bob VossS: Chad JonesApproved by voice without opposition (Procedural > 50%)Motion Passes

Chair reviewed the goals for the meeting, big ticket items, access to the reflector and website, and ground rules for the meeting. The Chair noted that only 802.3 Working Group voters on the call may vote in this telephonic interim meeting and reviewed the rules concerning contingent interim calls.

Attendance, Mr. Zimmerman advised the group that the attendance was taken as a roll-call at the beginning of the meeting.

IEEE Patent Policy, at **7:23 AM**, Mr. Zimmerman read aloud slides #1 and #2. Mr. Zimmerman then made the call for potentially essential patents at **7:25 AM**, none responded. Mr. Zimmerman then read aloud slides #3 and #4.

Mr. Zimmerman showed and summarized the slide entitled "Participation in IEEE 802 Meetings". Mr. Zimmerman asked if there was any discussion necessary, none responded.

Chair reviewed the IEEE 802.3 Standards process and where the Task Force was in the process and the process by which we will develop the standard. The Chair clearly defined the basis by which the Task Force can move to RevCom as the schedule indicates. The Chair asked the group if there were any questions regarding the process, none responded.

Title: Editor's Opening Report: P802.3cg Draft D3.2 (<u>maguire 3cg 01 1019.pdf</u>) Presenter: Valerie Maguire, Siemon

The Chief Editor reviewed the last draft balloting status, outlined the comments by topic, and reminded participants that the comments had been posted by topic on the website.

The Chief Editor reviewed the distribution of the submitted comments and asked if there were any comments where the commenter would like to withdraw the comment, none responded.

At this time, the editor's report was concluded.

COMMENT RESOLUTION

Decisions during comment resolution were made by consensus, except where noted that motions were taken. For details on comment resolution see the posted comment database.

Motion #2:Move to accept the Editors proposed response on comment r04-2.M:Chad JonesS:Peter Jones

(Technical >= 75%)

Last Name	First Name	Motion #2	
Tim	Baggett	Y	
Piergiorgio	Beruto	Y	
Gitesh	Bhagwat	Υ	
David	Brandt	Υ	
Michal	Brychta	Υ	
Steve	Carlson	Υ	
Brian	Franchuk	Υ	
Matthias	Fritsche	Y	
Steffen	Graber	Υ	
Bernd	Horrmeyer	Υ	
Gergely	Huszak	Υ	
Chad	Jones	Υ	
Peter	Jones	Υ	

Last Name	First Name	Motion #2
		Did Not
Haysam	Kadry Vote	
Yong	Kim	N
Wojciech	Koczwara	Y
David	Law	Y
Jon	Lewis	Υ
Val	Maguire	Y
Mick	McCarthy	Υ
Masood	Shariff	Y
Dayin	Xu	Υ
		Did not
George	Zimmerman	vote
A: 0		

Y: 20 N: 1 Motion Passes

Motion #3: Move to accept the Editors proposed response on comment r04-3, reaffirming response to comment i-411. M: Steve Carlson S: David Brandt

(Technical >= 75%)

Last Name	First Name	Motion #3	
Tim	Baggett	Υ	
Piergiorgio	Beruto	Υ	
Gitesh	Bhagwat	Υ	
David	Brandt	Υ	
Michal	Brychta	Υ	
Steve	Carlson	Υ	
Brian	Franchuk	Y	
Matthias	Fritsche	Y	
Steffen	Graber	Y	
Bernd	Horrmeyer	Υ	
Gergely	Huszak	Υ	
Chad	Jones	Υ	
Peter	Jones	Υ	
Haysam	Kadry	Υ	
Yong	Kim	Ν	
Wojciech	Koczwara	Υ	
		Did Not	
David	Law	Vote	
Jon	Lewis	Y	
Val	Maguire	Y	
Mick	McCarthy	Y	

Last Name	First Name	Motion #3
Masood	Shariff	Υ
Dayin	Xu	Υ
		Did not
George	Zimmerman	vote
A: 0		

Y: 20 N: 1 Motion Passes

Title: Editor's Closing Report: P802.3cg Draft D3.2 (<u>maguire 3cg 02 1019.pdf</u>) Presenter: Valerie Maguire, Siemon

Motion #4:Move to approve the final comment resolution contained in
http://www.ieee802.org/3/cg/comments/802.3cg
draft3p4Aligned
Resolved
By%20Comment%20ID.pdf
M:Valerie Maguire
S:S: Gergely Huszak
(Technical >= 75%)

Last Name	First Name	Motion #4	
Tim	Baggett Y		
Piergiorgio	Beruto	Υ	
Gitesh	Bhagwat	Υ	
David	Brandt	Υ	
Michal	Brychta	Υ	
Steve	Carlson	Υ	
Brian	Franchuk	Υ	
Matthias	Fritsche	Υ	
Steffen	Graber	Y	
Bernd	Horrmeyer	Υ	
Gergely	Huszak	Υ	
Chad	Jones	Υ	
Peter	Jones	Υ	
Haysam	Kadry	Υ	
Yong	Kim	Υ	
Wojciech	Koczwara	Υ	
		Did Not	
David	Law	Vote	
Jon	Lewis	Y	
Val	Maguire	Y	
Mick	McCarthy	Y	
Masood	Shariff	Υ	
Dayin	Xu	Υ	
George	Zimmerman	Did not vote	

Y: 21 N: 0 A: 0 Motion Passes

The Chair asked if anyone had additional business, none responded.

The Chair noted that the agenda had been exhausted and adjourned the meeting at 8:42 AM (Pacific time US).

Appendix A: Attendees at the IEEE P802.3cg 10 Mb/s Single-Pair Ethernet Task Force Meeting, October 14, 2019.

By choosing to attend and sign in to this meeting, you acknowledge and agree that your personal data will be documented for IEEE standards development purposes to comply with policies and procedures, legal and accreditation requirements, and evaluation of patent claims by patent offices. See Front Page for additional information.

Last Name	First Name	Employer	Affiliation
Robert	Aekins	Legrand	Legrand
Hongming	An	Microchip	Microchip
Tim	Baggett	Microchip	Microchip
Piergiorgio	Beruto	CanovaTech	CanovaTech
Gitesh	Bhagwat	ADI	ADI
David	Brandt	Rockwell Automation	Rockwell Automation
Michal	Brychta	ADI	ADI
Rory	Buchanon	On Semiconductor	On Semiconductor
Steve	Carlson	High Speed Design/Robert Bosch, Marvell	High Speed Design/Robert Bosch, Marvell
Brian	Franchuk	Emerson	Emerson
Matthias	Fritsche	Harting	Harting
Marco	Giardina	Hamilton	Hamilton
Steffen	Graber	Pepperl+Fuchs	Pepperl+Fuchs
Maris	Graube	Relcom	Relcom
Bernd	Horrmeyer	Phoenix Contact	Phoenix Contact
Gergely	Huszak	Kone	Kone
Chad	Jones	Cisco Systems	Cisco Systems
Peter	Jones	Cisco Systems	Cisco Systems
Haysam	Kadry	Ford	Ford
Yong	Kim	NIO	NIO
Wojciech	Koczwara	Rockwell Automation	Rockwell Automation
David	Law	НРЕ	HPE
Jon	Lewis	Dell/EMC	Dell/EMC
Val	Maguire	Siemon Co.	Siemon Co.
Mick	McCarthy	ADI	ADI
Sanaz	Mortazavi	Volkswagen	Volkswagen
Dieter	Schicketanz	Reutlingen Univ.	Reutlingen Univ.
Masood	Shariff	CommScope	CommScope
Bob	Voss	Panduit	Panduit
Dayin	Xu	Rockwell Automation	Rockwell Automation
George	Zimmerman	CME Consulting	CME Consulting/ADI, APL Group, Aquantia, BMW, Cisco, CommScope, SenTekSe