IEEE P802.3ck Ad Hoc meeting – April 14, 2021

Prepared by Kent Lusted

Proposed Agenda:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of the 3/31 minutes
- IEEE Patent Policy reminder (see below for links)
- IEEE Copyright reminder (see below for link)
- IEEE Participation Requirements reminder (see below for link)
- Task Force Status
- 3ck Technical Presentations
 - "Conversion of measured J_3u and J_RMS to A_DD and Sigma_RJ", Yasuo Hidaka
 - "The Effect of Tfx on ERL Using a Measured Test Fixture", Mike Dudek

Presentations posted at: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/index.html

Meeting began at ~07:00 a.m. Pacific by Beth Kochuparambil.

Meeting began with the agenda presentation:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr14 21/agenda 041421a 3ck adhoc.pdf

The ad hoc chair reminded participants to indicate full names and employer/affiliation correctly for the meeting minutes. Reminded participants to mute lines when not speaking and reviewed the steps to unmute.

Presented the proposed agenda. Chair asked if there was modification or opposition to the agenda. No one responded. The agenda was approved by the ad hoc.

The minutes for the last ad hoc meeting on 31 March 2021 were posted to the ad hoc website. Chair asked if there was objection to approving the minutes. No one responded. Minutes were approved.

Chair reviewed the slide with the Participation requirements.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the copyright slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the IEEE-SA copyright slides.

Chair asked if anyone participating had not read the patent slide set – no one responded. Chair showed the patent policy slides and did the call for Potentially Essential Patents – no one responded.

Chair reviewed the ground rules.

Chair called for members of the press. No one responded.

Agenda Items

P802.3ck Update, Beth Kochuparambil

See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr14 21/agenda 041421a 3ck adhoc.pdf

- Draft 2.0 Working Group ballot opened on 20th March 2021 (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/100GEL/email/msg00683.html)
- The ballot closes on Sunday, 18 April 2021.
- Presentations to complete comments are due 19 April 2021 AoE. All other presentations are due 29 April 2021 AOE
- Responses are expected to be posted around 7 May 2021 and will be announced over the email reflector.
- The next comment resolution series will be announced over the email reflector.

Presentation #1:

"Conversion of measured J_3u and J_RMS to A_DD and Sigma_RJ", Yasuo Hidaka See: https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr14 21/hidaka 3ck adhoc 01 041421.pdf

- Reviewed the revised equations on slide 4.
- Discussed the evaluation method given on slide 5.

Presentation #2:

"The Effect of Tfx on ERL Using a Measured Test Fixture", Mike Dudek See:

https://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/adhoc/apr14 21/dudek 3ck adhoc 01 041421.pdf

- The author needed to confirm the correctness of the graph on slide 9. The simulations used 100 ohms but the graph suggests 85 ohms. Mike confirmed that the graph was incorrect and sent the corrected, posted 01a version.
- Clarified that the graph on slide 11 shows the ERL values from a sweep of the Tfx values for a given package.
- The data on slide 10 does not have a host trace in it.
- Discussed the considerations of proposed change to Tfx = 0.3 nsec

Chair reminded participants that the Working Group ballot Draft 2.0 closes on 18 April 2021. (see: https://www.ieee802.org/3/100GEL/email/msg00683.html)

Chair noted that the next ad hoc is 21 April 2021. Requests to present in the ad hoc are Mondays prior to the ad hoc meeting.

The ad hoc meeting ended at ~8:30 am Pacific.

List of attendees (captured from Webex tool)

Name	Affiliation	Employed by
Adam Healey	Broadcom	Broadcom
Alan Kinningham	I-PEX	I-PEX
Alex Haser	Molex	Molex
Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi	Ghiasi Quantum/Inphi
Ashley Moran- IEEE SA	IEEE SA	IEEE SA
Ayal Shoval	Synopsys	Synopsys
Beth Kochuparambil	Cisco	Cisco
Brandon Gore	Samtec	Samtec
Bruce Champion	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Champion (Chien Ping) Kao	Cornelis Networks	Cornelis Networks
Chris DiMinico	PHY-SI	PHY-SI
Clint Walker	Alphawave IP	Alphawave IP
Curtis Donahue	Rohde & Schwarz	Rohde & Schwarz
David Malicoat	Senko	Independent
Enis Akbaba	Maxim Integrated	Maxim Integrated
Frank Chang	Source Photonics	Source Photonics
Gary Nicholl	Cisco	Cisco
Geoff Zhang	Xilinx	Xilinx
Greg LeCheminant	Keysight	Keysight
Hansel Dsilva	Achronix	Achronix

Haysam Kadry	Ford Motor Company	Ford Motor Company
Hessam Mohajeri	Cadence	Cadence
Howard Heck	Intel	Intel
Istvan BakroNagy	EFFECT Photonics	EFFECT Photonics
James Weaver	Arista	Arista
James Young	Commscope	Commscope
Jane Lim	Cisco	Cisco
Jeff Slavick	Broadcom	Broadcom
Jeffery Maki	Juniper	Juniper
John Calvin	Keysight	Keysight
John Yurtin	Aptiv	Aptiv
Jonathan Silvano de Sousa	GG Group	GG Group
Joshua Kim	Hirose	Hirose
Karl Bois	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity
Kent Lusted	Intel	Intel
Mark Kimber	Semtech	Semtech
Masashi Shimanouchi	Intel	Intel
Matt Brown	Huawei	Huawei
Mau-Lin Wu	Mediatek	Mediatek
Mike Dudek	Marvell	Marvell
Mike Li	Intel	Intel
Nathan Tracy	TE Connectivity	TE Connectivity

Patrick Casher	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Pavel Zivny	Tektronix	Tektronix
Phil Sun	Credo	Credo
Piers Dawe	NVIDIA	NVIDIA
Pirooz Tooyserkani	Cisco	Cisco
Rajmohan Hegde	Broadcom	Broadcom
Rick Rabinovich	Keysight	Keysight
Sam Kocsis	Amphenol	Amphenol
Scott Sommers	Molex	Molex
SJ Yu	Foxconn Interconnect	Foxconn Interconnect
Stephen Didde	Keysight	Keysight
Steve Sekel	Wilder Tech	Wilder Tech
Tao Hu	Marvell	Marvell
Tom Palkert	Macom/Samtec	Macom/Samtec
Toshiaki Sakai	Socionext	Socionext
Ulf Parkholm	Ericsson	Ericsson
Upen Kareti	Cisco	Cisco
Victor Chen	Amazon	Amazon
Yasuo Hidaka	Credo	Credo