### Minutes

# IEEE P802.3cu 100 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s over SMF at 100 Gb/s per Wavelength Task Force Plenary Meeting

Dec 2nd, 2020
Teleconference
Prepared by Mark Nowell

## **Table of Contents**

**Table of Contents** 

<u>IEEE P802.3cu 100 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s over SMF at 100 Gb/s per Wavelength Task Force</u>
<u>Attendees</u>

## IEEE P802.3cu 100 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s over SMF at 100 Gb/s per Wavelength Task Force Plenary Meeting – December 2nd, 2020

Prepared by Mark Nowell

Meeting convened at 7:02AM (Pacific)

Chaired by Mark Nowell.

Chair requested participants to include their <u>affiliation</u> with their name in the WebEx participation list, since attendance will be recorded with this list.

### Chair reviewed agenda in

http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/cu/public/Nov20/agenda\_3cu\_01a\_120220.pdf Chair showed the agenda. Chair asked if there were any modifications to the agenda?

### Motion#1: Approve the agenda

Approved by voice without opposition

Minutes from the previous interim meeting (October 6) were posted shortly after the conclusion of the meeting. Chair asked if anyone wished to make modifications to the minutes? None raised.

### **Motion #2:** Approve the minutes

Minutes approved by voice without opposition.

Chair reminded the Task Force of the IEEE policies.

- Patent Policy reviewed. Call for patents at 7:10AM (Pacfic). No patents noted.
- IEEE SA Copyright Policy
- IEEE SA Participation Policy

### http://ieee802.org/3/policies.html

Goals for this series of meetings:

- Resolve comments received against D3.2
  - Review any technical contributions (including proposals aimed towards spec changes)

Chair showed the statistics of the P802.3cu D3.0, D3.1 & D3.2 IEEE-SA Ballots. Chair showed timeline. Chair noted the Rev Comm submittal date of Dec 11, 2020. Chair showed the potential procedural paths forward and next steps depending on whether a change is made to D3.2 as a result of the comment resolution.

### Presentation #1: "Chief Editor's Report" Gary Nicholl

See <a href="http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/cu/public/Nov20/nicholl\_3cu\_01\_120220.pdf">http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/cu/public/Nov20/nicholl\_3cu\_01\_120220.pdf</a>

Recent activities:

- o 2nd Standards Association recirculation ballot (D3.2)
  - Opened: 13th November 2020
  - Closed: 28th November 2020
  - 1 TR comment received from 1 reviewer
  - Proposed responses prepared by editorial team and posted
  - Comment summary by clause and draft shown
- Objective for this meeting:
  - Respond to all comments against Draft 3.2.
  - Generate Draft 3.3 if needed

=>Comment resolution began (7:15AM PDT)

Comment resolution ended at (7:44AM PDT) with all comments closed.

Since the comment was rejected, no changes to the document and D3.2 remains unchanged. While the comment was closed with Task Force consensus the commenter remains unsatisfied and feels that this is a new comment despite similarity with previous I-65 and R1-12 comments.

Per RevCom guidelines, any new unsatisfied comment requires explanation for the RevCom committee to review if Draft is submitted without comment being recirculated.

Safer approach is to recirculate the draft (unchanged) with the unsatisfied comment. Follow the usual process after recirculation but this does not mean that D3.2 can not be submitted to RevCom before Dec 11th deadline.

Therefore, Chair decided to initiate the recirculation.

### Motion #3:

Move to accept the comment response against D3.2 and conduct a recirculation

Moved by Mark Nowell

Seconded by Gary Nicholl

Passes by voice vote without opposition with one abstain

Chair adjourned the meeting at 7:58AM (Pacific)

### **Attendees**

(Taken from Webex Attendance- Affiliations we're not captured by Webex tool this time so affiliations have been entered manually based on previous minutes. Please let Chair or Recording Secretary know if any modifications are needed)

Adam Healey [Broadcom]	broadcom
Alex Haser [Molex]	molex
Ali Ghiasi [Ghiasi Quantum]	Ghiasi Quantum
Bo Zhang	inphi
BRIAN WELCH	cisco
Chan Chih (David) Chen [AOI]	ao-inc
David Law [HPE]	HPE
David Lewis (Lumentum)	lumentum
david malicoat (Independent / Senko)	Independent
David Piehler [Dell]	dell
Beth Kochaparmbil	cisco
Frank Chang	Source Photonics
Gianpiero Bognanni	Innolight
Gary Nicholl	cisco
Greg D Le Cheminant Keysight	keysight
Hideki Isono (FOC)	jp.fujitsu
Inho Kim	maxlinear
Jeffery Maki [Juniper]	juniper
Jodi Haasz (IEEE SA)	ieee
John S Abbott(Corning)	corning
Lemon_geng (huawei)	huawei
Leon Bruckman (Huawei)	huawei
Mark Kimber	semtech
Mark Nowell	cisco
Massimo Sorbara [Globalfoundries]	globalfoundries
Matt Brown [Huawei]	Huawei
Mike Davis (Sicoya)	sicoya

Mike Dudek	marvell
Mike Klempa (Amphenol)	amphenol-tcs
Peter Stassar	huawei
Peter Winzer	nubis-communications
Phil Sun	credosemi
Piers Dawe [Nvidia]	nvidia
pirooz Tooyersekani	cisco
Qing Xu (Ranovus)	ranovus
ray nering	cisco
Roberto Rodes	finisar
Ruoxu Wang(Huawei)	huawei
Sam Sambasivan (AT&T)	labs.att
SAMUEL KOCSIS [AMPHENOL]	AMPHENOL-TCS
Scott Sommers (Molex LLC)	molex
Stephen Didde (Keysight)	keysight
Steve Trowbridge [Nokia]	nokia
Tom Huber [Nokia]	nokia
Tom Issenhuth - Huawei	Huawei
Tom Palkert	МАСОМ
Vipul Bhatt	ieee