Minutes

IEEE P802.3cu 100 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s over SMF at 100 Gb/s per Wavelength Task Force Interim Meeting

October 6, 2020

Teleconference

Prepared by Kenneth Jackson and Mark Nowell

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

<u>IEEE P802.3cu 100 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s over SMF at 100 Gb/s per Wavelength Task Force</u>
<u>Attendees</u>

IEEE P802.3cu 100 Gb/s and 400 Gb/s over SMF at 100 Gb/s per Wavelength Task Force Ad Hoc Meeting – October 6, 2020

Prepared by Kenneth Jackson

Meeting convened at 2:02PM (GMT) 7:02AM (Pacific) Chaired by Mark Nowell.

Chair reviewed agenda in

http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/cu/public/Sept20/agenda_3cu_01_100620.pdf Chair showed the agenda. Chair asked if there were any modifications to the agenda?

Motion#1: Approve the agenda

Approved by voice without opposition

Minutes from the previous interim meeting (September 29) were posted shortly after the meeting. Unfortunately, the link pointed to the prior week's (Sept 22) minutes. Chair made an adjustment to the link. Chair asked if there were any changes to the minutes?

Motion #2: Approve the minutes

Minutes approved by voice without opposition.

Chair reminded the Task Force of the IEEE policies.

- Patent Policy reviewed. Call for patents at 7:06AM (Pacfic). No patents noted.
- IEEE SA Copyright Policy
- IEEE SA Participation Policy

http://ieee802.org/3/policies.html

Attendance is captured through the Webex tool. Participants are requested to log-in with both their <u>name and affiliation</u> details in the Name Field. Missing affiliations will be filled in before posting minutes based on previous affiliations provided in earlier meetings. Participants are encouraged to review the minutes to ensure correct information is included.

Goals for this series of meetings:

- Resolve comments received against D3.0
 - Review any technical contributions (including proposals aimed towards spec changes)

Chair showed timeline.

Chair showed the remaining meetings schedule. No presentation for today's meeting.

Presentation #1: "P802.3cu D3.0 Comment Resolution Agenda" Gary Nicholl

See http://grouper.ieee.org/groups/802/3/cu/public/Sept20/nicholl 3cu 01 100620.pdf

- Reminded participants of the comment review process
- Status for today's meeting:
 - Sept 29 conf call:
 - Reviewed 1 presentation
 - Closed 17 non-bucket comments
 - Closed all 41 comments in the bucket
 - o 15 comments remain to be closed
- Gary presented plan for comment resolution (slide 7)

=>Comment resolution began (7:12AM PDT)

With regard to Comment i-79:

Straw Poll #1: I support independent limits of Pmax-Pavg and Pavg-Pmin as a replacement of the current peak to peak limit.

Y: 10 N: 9 A: 7 No answer: 16

Comment resolution ended at 8:54AM (PDT) with all comments closed.

Motion #3:

Generate Draft 3.1 from Draft 3.0 and closed comments

Moved by Gary Nicholl

Seconded by David Lewis

Passed by Voice vote without opposition

Chair mentioned that D3.1 would be generated and circulated for review.

No call next week.

Chair adjourned the meeting at 8:59AM (Pacific)

Attendees

(Taken from Webex Attendance- Affiliations we're not captured by Webex tool this time so affiliations have been entered manually based on previous minutes. Please let Chair or Recording Secretary know if any modifications are needed)

Ali Ghiasi	Ghiasi Quantum
BRIAN WELCH	cisco
Chan Chih (David) Chen [AOI]	ao-inc
David Lewis (Lumentum)	lumentum

david malicoat (Independent / Senko)	Independent / Senko
Earl Parsons	commscope
Ed Ulrichs	intel
Frank Chang	Source Photonics
Gary Nicholl (Cisco)	cisco
Greg D Le Cheminant Keysight	keysight
guangcan mi /huawei	huawei
Hideki Isono (FOC)	jp.fujitsu
Ilya Lyubomirsky	inphi
Inho Kim	marvell
James Young	commscope
Jeff Hutchins (Ranovus)	Ranovus
Jeffery Maki [Juniper]	juniper
Jim Theodoras [HG Genuine]	genuine-opto
Jodi Haasz	ieee
Kae Dube	iol.unh
Kenneth Jackson (Sumitomo)	sei-device
Lemon_geng (huawei)	huawei
Mark Kimber	semtech
Mark Nowell	cisco
Massimo Sorbara [Globalfoundries]	globalfoundries
Matt Brown (Huawei Technologies Canada)	Huawei
Mike Dudek	marvell
Mike Klempa (Amphenol)	amphenol-tcs
Pavel Zivny	tektronix
Peter Stassar	huawei
Phil Sun	credosemi

Piers Dawe [Nvidia]	nvidia
Qing Xu (Ranovus)	ranovus
Qingya She (Fujitsu)	fujitsu
Ray Nering	cisco
Roberto Rodes	finisar
ruibo han (cmcc)	СМСС
sam sambasivan	labs.att
Scott Sommers	molex
Stephen Didde	keysight
Steve Trowbridge [Nokia]	nokia
Takeo Masuda	oitda.o
Thomas Palkert	MACOM
Tom Huber [Nokia]	nokia
tomofuji (Fujitsu)	jp.fujitsu
Vince Ferretti (Corning)	corning
Yoshiaki Sone (NTT)	NTT