802.20 Sponsor Ballot Procedure:

1) At the close of invitation to ballot the normal process for individual-based standards development process provides for the Sponsor's review of the balloting group (to determine compliance with procedural requirements for balance.)

2) At this point the 802 Executive Committee's 802.20 Oversight Committee ("OC") shall identify the bloc to which each individual in the balloting group belongs.

3) For those members of the Working Group who voted on the WG ballot AND those members of the WG who voted on subsequent issues within the "special" 802.20 balloting method, their default assignment will be to their previous bloc.

4) The 802.20 WG Chair shall review the currency of those assignments. Change of employment or declared affiliation, and other available information, will be considered for moving an individual to another bloc or as grounds for creation of a new bloc. (i.e., the same kind of operation for 802.20 non-member participants.)

5) Once the OC have completed review of all of the 802.20 participants, they will review information for those who have signed up for the balloting group who are not 802.20 participants. An email shall be sent to the Sponsor Ballot Group members to request affiliation information as needed to support the creation of new blocs and the correct assignment of individuals to blocs. Response will be due within two business days.

6) The OC will attempt to reach consensus agreement on all of the above. In the absence of consensus, however, a majority decision will prevail.

7) The list will be submitted to the 802 EC Chair for final review. The Chair may question the OC about individual decisions and ask the OC to take further action. Once the Chair has signed off on the list, the assignments shall be made public via e-mail to:

The balloting Group The 802.20 reflector The 802 EC

8) Ballot group members will be provided two business days to review determinations and provide additional information to the OC. The OC will then review its decisions and determine whether to make any final revisions. At that point the Sponsor Ballot will begin.

9) Each bloc may wish to select a group representative and disclose that person to the Working Group Chair if it is felt that having a centralized contact point will facilitate comment resolution.

05DEC2007 SASB Motion on 802.20 WG Sponsor Ballot:

Move to approve 802.20 to enter Sponsor ballot using the individual method with the following additional modifications:

- The casting of individual votes and submittal of comments shall be done through myBallot.
- The unconflicted LMSC EC shall oversee conduct of the ballot, including determination of affiliation and voting blocs in a manner consistent with that used for determining the voting members of the 802.20 working group.
- The unconflicted LMSC EC shall review the votes cast, audit the ballots and produce a modified tally for use in determining success of the ballot, need for and scope of recirculation and for submittal along with raw tallies to RevCom when balloting is complete.

The unconflicted LMSC EC shall use the blocs determined above to count the votes. The vote of the bloc shall be calculated with any disapprove comment making the vote of the bloc vote a disapprove with comment; absent a disapprove comment, one or more approve makes the vote of the bloc approve.

Grouping of independents and unaffiliated consultants into one bloc:

A single bloc of independents and unaffiliated consultants has been created. This tracks the procedure that was implemented within the 802.20 Working Group. (At the WG level the OC ended up moving all individuals out of the independents and unaffiliated consultants bloc via the investigative process.)

Sponsor Ballot Calculus

Each bloc will have its vote characterized into one of the following categories:

nc = Disapprove with comment.

- nn = Disapprove without a comment
- y = Approve (with or without comments)

a = Abstain

The vote for a bloc will be determined by examining all votes received by members of that bloc.

If at least 1 ballot is Disapprove with Comment then the bloc vote is nc.

If there are no Disapprove with Comment ballots and at least 1 Approve ballot then the bloc vote is y

If there are no Disapprove with Comment ballots and no Approve ballots but there is at least 1 abstain ballot then the bloc vote is a.

If the only ballot(s) returned from a bloc is Disapprove without Comment ballot then the bloc vote is nn.

To calculate the Sponsor Ballot results the following variables are tabulated from the bloc votes as defined above:

Nc = number of nc blocs voting Disapprove with Comment
Nn = number of nn blocs voting Disapprove without Comment
Y = number of y blocs voting Approve
A = number of a blocs voting Abstain
B = number of blocs of the approved Sponsor Ballot Group.

ReturnRate = (Nc + Nn + Y + A) / B

ApproveRate = Y / (Nc + Y)

AbstainRate = A / (Nc + Nn + Y + A)

| Sponsor Ballot Group | Telefon AB, LM Ericsson | |
|--|---------------------------------|--------------------------------|
| Bloc-list | Texas Instruments | |
| | TransCore | 1 vote for the remaining |
| 1 vote each for the following | US Navy | members grouped into a |
| entities | VeriWave | consultant/independent bloc |
| chuics | Wavesat, Inc. | |
| ABFL Groupe Intellex | Zhone Technologies | ACSHCS |
| Advanced Micro Devices | ZTE Corporation | Ameba Consult |
| ADVANTEST | | Arosco Inc. |
| ALCATEL-LUCENT | | Booz Allen Hamilton (US DOHS) |
| Alvarion | | Tony Jeffree |
| Aruba Networks | | Consultant |
| Axxcelera |] | Consultant |
| BAE Systems |] | CSI Telecommunications |
| Boeing |] | Engineers |
| Broadcom | | Enterprise Digital Architects |
| Cedarcom Broadband SAL | 1 vote each for the following | Future DOS R&D Inc. |
| ETRI | Universities | Hexagon System Engineering Ltd |
| Foxconn Electronics | 1 | IEEE (PCI Energy) |
| Fujitsu Limited | Institute of MIyagi Pref | IEEE 802-OC |
| Hifn, Inc. | Meiji Univ./NICT | Independent |
| Hitachi | National Chung Hsing University | Independent |
| Huawei Technologies Co., LTD. | Niigata University | Independent Consultant |
| IBM | Politecnico di Bari - Italy | L&M Data Communications |
| Intel | Southern Methodist University | M.V. Ball Technical |
| InterDigital Communications Corp | Tohoku University | Murias Consulting, Inc. |
| Itron | TU Berlin | n/a |
| Kyocera | University of Strathclyde | Neocific, Inc. |
| Lexmark | University of Strathclyde | PRIVACOM VENTURES, INC. |
| LG Electronics, Inc. | University of Bonn | Tkstds Management |
| Marvell Semiconductor | University of Reading, UK | unemployed - retired |
| Motorola Inc | Waseda University | WK3C Wireless LLC |
| Navini Networks | Washington University in Saint | Yamatech Group Inc |
| Nextwave Broadband | Louis | YAS |
| Nokia/Nokia-Siemens/Siemens | Yonsei University | - CN Utility |
| | Yuan Ze University | Hydro One Networks Inc. |
| Nortel Networks | - | L&M Italia S.r.I. |
| NTT DoCoMo Inc | | National Water Commission |
| NXP Semiconductors | 4 | PSC |
| Qualcomm | 4 | SEC |
| Quanta Microsystems, Inc. | 4 | |
| RealNet Solutions, Inc. | - | |
| Rohde & Schwarz | 4 | |
| RUNCOM | 4 | |
| Samsung Electronics | 4 | |
| Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories | | |
| SiBEAM | 4 | |
| | 4 | |
| Sprint Corp | 4 | |
| Steepest Ascent Ltd | 4 | |

Taiyo Yuden